# Kimberly-Clark

> One working view of Kimberly-Clark's fiber and nonwoven product lines, tissue-mill footprint, and its own published fiber and recycling commitments.

- Industry: Consumer Goods & Apparel
- Collection: Active
- Materials: Aluminum, Organics, Paper and fiber, PFAS, Plastics, Textile fibers, Water
- Processes: Recycling, Wastewater treatment, Energy recovery
- Evidence through: 2026-09-18
- Canonical URL: https://www.materialtransition.com/library/kimberly-clark

## Reported scale and scope

- **FY2025 net sales:** $16.447B (Year ended December 31, 2025)
- **TRI facility leads:** 5 (2024 U.S. match)
- **Managed listed chemicals:** 658K lb (2024 U.S. listed-chemical data)
- **Products out:** 3 families (Publicly described)
- **Top TRI chemical:** Nitrate compounds (water-dissociable) (By managed weight)

## Company research

**Revenue basis:** This page uses Kimberly-Clark's reported FY2025 net sales of $16.447B (year ended December 31, 2025), per its 10-K and year-end results release. An SEC XBRL value of $4.080B for the period ending December 31, 2025 is about one quarter of that figure ($16.447B ÷ 4 ≈ $4.11B), so it is read as a single-quarter value and is not used as annual revenue. [1]

## Company flow

Public evidence, arranged around the physical system rather than the corporate org chart.

01 · MATERIALS IN

#### Feedstock & input family

Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set. Directional sector family only: packaging, fiber, aluminum, polymers, ingredients, personal

Public category signal

02 · MAKE

#### Personal Care

Huggies, Kotex, and Depend, diapers, feminine care, and adult incontinence products built on superabsorbent-polymer and nonwoven fiber core

Company described

03 · PRODUCTS OUT

#### 3 public product families

Huggies / Kotex / Depend, Kleenex / Scott / Cottonelle, and 1 more described lines.

Company described

04 · WASTE OUT

#### Listed-chemical streams

658K lb managed in 2024 TRI records across 5 matched facility leads.

Listed-chemical view

#### What is public now

Buyer-side sector Consumer, food & retail

Waste-side sector Food, consumer, pulp & packaging

Segments Personal Care; Consumer Tissue; K-C Professional

Public plant signal 5 TRI facility leads define the public operating footprint

#### Segment breakdown

Personal Care Huggies, Kotex, and Depend, diapers, feminine care, and adult incontinence products built on superabsorbent-polymer and nonwoven fiber cores.

Consumer Tissue Kleenex, Scott, and Cottonelle tissue and towel products, manufactured at cellulose-fiber mills including Owensboro, KY and Loudon, TN.

K-C Professional Commercial washroom, wiping and PPE products. Kimberly-Clark's 2018 RightCycle release lists qualifying nitrile gloves, single-use apparel and polypropylene wipers; it does not establish acceptance of tissue-mill trim. [7]

#### Regulatory watchlist

State Extended Producer Responsibility for packaging (multiple U.S. states)

EU Single-Use Plastics Directive relevance for wet wipes

PFAS restrictions in food-contact and personal-care packaging

EPA Clean Water Act effluent guidelines for pulp and tissue mills

#### Certification families to check

Fiber sourcing (2025): 95% of tissue fiber from environmentally preferred sources; FSC-certified virgin wood fiber was 77% of total virgin-fiber purchases.

ISO 14001

**Evidence boundary:** Kimberly-Clark describes a K-C Professional RightCycle program, including eligible nitrile gloves, single-use apparel and polypropylene wipers. The public material reviewed here does not show that the program accepts nonwoven or superabsorbent-polymer trim from the three named facility leads, nor does it establish that any such material is available for recovery. [7]

## Products leaving the system

Publicly described product families and segments define Kimberly-Clark's outward material flow.

Company described

#### Huggies / Kotex / Depend

Diaper, feminine-care, and incontinence products built on superabsorbent polymer and nonwoven fiber.

Segment: Personal Care

#### Kleenex / Scott / Cottonelle

Tissue and towel products manufactured at fiber mills including Owensboro, KY and Loudon, TN, two of the three named TRI leads.

Segment: Consumer Tissue

#### K-C Professional wipers & PPE

Commercial nonwoven wiping and protective-equipment products, the direct input stream to the RightCycle recycling program.

Segment: K-C Professional

#### Product and application signal

The cited product and segment pages identify product families and applications. This brief does not include grade- or SKU-level technical, safety, packaging, or certification records.

## Materials entering Kimberly-Clark's system

Directional material-family signal, matched against the company's public segment structure and TRI-listed chemical evidence.

Public category signal

| Material family | Public signal | Transition lens |
|-|-|-|
| Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set | Directional sector family | Substitution, origin resilience, recycled or bio-based content |
| Top TRI-listed chemical: Nitrate compounds (water-dissociable) | TRI-verified, 2024 | Owensboro, KY is the largest of three named leads at 370.5K lb, followed by Loudon, TN and Jenks, OK, all reporting nitrate compounds as the top chemical, consistent with wastewater treatment at fiber-processing mills rather than a core production input. |
| Recycled, bio-based, or recovered inputs | Public program signal | See Packaging and Opportunities tabs for named public programs |

#### Financial scale context

$16.447B FY2025 net sales (year ended December 31, 2025) provides scale context for sourcing and waste opportunities. It is not a materials-spend measure.

#### Material transition focus

TRI-listed chemical stream is public; exact material mapping still requires facility and chemical review. Directional residual forms only: organic residuals, fiber sludge, wastewater residuals, trim, off-spec product, and packaging.

## Packaging and circularity programs

Public circularity, recycling, and take-back signals connect Kimberly-Clark's product system to a packaging or materials transition pathway.

Packaging & circularity signal

#### RightCycle Program

Kimberly-Clark's 2018 release says RightCycle had diverted more than 300 tons cumulatively since its 2011 launch. It lists qualifying nitrile gloves, single-use apparel and polypropylene wipers, subject to contamination exclusions. This historical milestone is not current annual throughput or proof of tissue-mill trim acceptance. [7]

#### Fiber sourcing

Kimberly-Clark's 2025 report says 95% of tissue fiber came from environmentally preferred sources, a category that includes FSC-certified virgin fiber, recycled fiber and sustainable alternative non-wood fiber. Separately, FSC-certified virgin wood fiber represented 77% of total virgin-fiber purchases. These are sourcing measures, not the share of finished products with FSC certification. 2025 Sustainability Report [6]

#### 2030 Ambition, Natural Forest Free

Kimberly-Clark's 2025 report says it reached 95% of tissue fiber from environmentally preferred sources, above its 90% 2025 milestone. Its 2030 Natural Forest Free ambition is a separate longer-term commitment.

#### Wastewater nitrate signal

Nitrate compounds, the TRI-reported top chemical at all three named mills, are a common effluent-treatment byproduct at pulp and tissue operations, consistent with the Clean Water Act effluent-guideline framework these mills operate under.

#### Packaging & circularity opportunities

#### Extend RightCycle to mill trim

Explore

Apply K-C Professional's own proven nonwoven/PPE diversion model to nonwoven and superabsorbent-polymer trim generated at Owensboro, Loudon, and Jenks.

#### Fiber-certificate scope verification

Evidence first

Kimberly-Clark's 2025 report separately reports that 95% of tissue fiber came from environmentally preferred sources and FSC-certified virgin wood fiber represented 77% of total virgin-fiber purchases. These are different sourcing measures, not a finished-product FSC certification rate. 2025 report source [6]

## Reported residual streams

The EPA 2024 Basic Data File returns six forms across five TRI facility IDs for the exact standard-parent-name match KIMBERLY-CLARK CORP. These are listed-chemical records, not a complete waste-flow inventory or verified current site-ownership list. EPA TRI source and method [8]

2024 U.S. listed-chemical data

#### 657,963 lb of on-site releases in six matched 2024 TRI forms

- **Off-site recycling:** 0 lb recorded
- **Off-site energy recovery:** 0 lb recorded
- **Off-site treatment:** 0 lb recorded
- **Total transfer:** 0 lb recorded

**Scope:** The values describe listed-chemical reporting in the six returned forms. They do not describe total company waste, establish current facility ownership or operations, or prove a recoverable material stream. EPA TRI source and method [8]

#### Named public facility leads

Kimberly-Clark Corp Owensboro Operations · Owensboro, KY 370,509 lb

Kimberly-Clark Corp Loudon Mill · Loudon, TN 191,400 lb

Kimberly-Clark Corp · Jenks, OK 52,037 lb

**What determines a viable recovery route:** validate legal owner, operator, process, stream identity, assay, contamination, current disposition, permit fit, receiving specification, and delivered economics.

#### Potential receiving markets

#### RightCycle-style specialty recyclers

Kimberly-Clark's 2018 release describes RightCycle for qualifying nitrile gloves, single-use apparel and polypropylene wipers, subject to contamination exclusions. It does not establish that the program accepts nonwoven or superabsorbent-polymer trim from the Owensboro, Loudon or Jenks tissue mills. [7]

#### Recycled-fiber mills

A standing buyer class for tissue-mill trim and off-spec fiber, subject to source separation and chain-of-custody evidence.

#### Composters

Candidate receivers for organic residuals from fiber processing, subject to contamination and moisture limits.

#### Packaging converters

Downstream buyers for any qualified recycled-content packaging film or fiber board.

## Fiber and recovery evidence boundaries

### Highest-leverage public opportunities

These opportunity hypotheses connect Kimberly-Clark's public product, TRI, and circularity-program signals to specific material-transition pathways.

#### Extend RightCycle to consumer-tissue mills

Evidence first

K-C Professional describes its RightCycle program, but the reviewed sources do not establish that its intake specifications cover nonwoven or superabsorbent-polymer trim from these named tissue mills. No site-level stream volume or current receiving route is verified here. [7]

- Trim-stream volume by mill
- RightCycle intake spec
- Program extension sign-off

#### FSC certificate-scope verification

Certificate check

The 2025 report's 95% tissue-fiber measure and 77% virgin-fiber purchase measure have different denominators; neither is a product-level FSC-certification rate. [6]

- Certificate number and holder
- Mill-level scope
- Expiry and registry check

#### TRI reporting scope

Data closure

In the six exact-parent 2024 forms, on-site releases total 657,962.71 lb; off-site recycling, energy recovery, treatment and total transfer each record 0 lb. These listed-chemical records are not a complete waste-flow or current-ownership inventory. EPA TRI source and method [8]

- Facility-level TRI pull
- Category reconciliation
- Corrected public disclosure

#### Evidence boundary

Public disclosures describe K-C Professional's RightCycle program and company-wide fiber-sourcing measures. They do not establish that the three facility leads generate a particular trim stream, that such material is accepted by RightCycle, or that it is available for recovery. The 2025 fiber percentages are company-level sourcing measures, not product- or mill-specific certifications. Fiber source [6] · [7]

## Material Transition editorial interpretation

This brief separates the disclosed record from the evidence still needed. Bring the relevant specification, facility or product-family evidence into the review.

## Sources

- [1] www.investor.kimberly-clark.com - https://www.investor.kimberly-clark.com/news-releases/news-release-details/kimberly-clark-reports-strong-finish-second-year-transformation
- [2] U.S. EPA TRI - https://www.epa.gov/toxics-release-inventory-tri-program/tri-basic-data-files-calendar-years-1987-present - 2024 U.S. TRI Basic Data Files, facility, parent, chemical, and management-category quantities.
- [3] U.S. SEC, Company Facts - https://data.sec.gov/api/xbrl/companyfacts/CIK0000055785.json - SEC XBRL Company Facts for Kimberly-Clark Corp, CIK 0000055785.
- [4] Kimberly-Clark Professional, RightCycle expansion - https://www.investor.kimberly-clark.com/news-releases/news-release-details/kimberly-clark-professional-expands-rightcycle-first-large-scale - Official release describing the RightCycle program's scope and expansion into industrial environments.
- [5] Kimberly-Clark, Forests & Biodiversity - https://www.kimberly-clark.com/en-us/sustainability/forests-and-biodiversity - Official fiber-sourcing page citing the ~97% FSC-certified tissue figure and 2030 Ambition targets.
- [6] Kimberly-Clark 2025 Sustainability Report, fiber measures - https://www.kimberly-clark.com/-/media/feature/kcc/corporate/pdf/key-download-pdf/KMB-2025-Sustainability-Report_Final.pdf?hash=C9339ACC748B7F7211F15DC7C3878512&rev=-1 - A short exact-passage excerpt was retained from the official report's rendered search result. The report distinguishes 95% of tissue fiber from environmentally preferred sources (including FSC-certified virgin, recycled and sustainable alternative non-wood fiber) from 77% FSC-certified virgin wood fiber as a share of total virgin-fiber purchases. Neither figure means that 97% of finished products are FSC-certified.
- [7] Kimberly-Clark Professional RightCycle program release - https://www.investor.kimberly-clark.com/news-releases/news-release-details/kimberly-clark-professional-expands-rightcycle-first-large-scale - Kimberly-Clark's January 2018 company release reports a cumulative 300-ton diversion since 2011 and lists eligible items and exclusions. This historical milestone is not current annual throughput or evidence that named consumer-tissue mill trim is accepted.
- [8] U.S. EPA TRI 2024 Basic Data File, exact-parent extraction - https://data.epa.gov/efservice/downloads/tri/mv_tri_basic_download/2024_US/csv - Raw EPA 2024 Basic CSV, filtered by exact standard-parent-name equality and year. Six forms across five distinct TRI IDs sum to 657,962.71 lb of on-site releases; off-site recycling, energy recovery, treatment, and total-transfer fields each record 0 lb across these forms. These are listed-chemical TRI records, not a complete waste-flow inventory, ownership census, or proof of current operations.

From the Material Transition company brief library: https://www.materialtransition.com/library/kimberly-clark
