Key facts
- Company
- 3M Company
- Industry
- Chemicals & Advanced Materials
- Materials
- Cement, Glass, Minerals, PFAS, Plastics, Solvents, Textile fibers
- Processes
- Recycling, Energy recovery
- Regions
- North America
- Countries
- United States
- Evidence through
- Sources
- 8 public sources
Reported scale and scope
- Latest reported revenue
- $24.95BFY2025, December 31, 2025 · SEC XBRL
- Reported cost proxy
- $14.99BFY2025 · SEC XBRL
- TRI facility leads
- 392024 U.S. match, unresolved
- PFAS-listed forms reported
- 142024 U.S. TRI matched records; historical reporting
- Top TRI facility
- Decatur, ALEthylene glycol, top-reported chemical
Company flow
3M's FY2025 Form 10-K identifies three continuing segments: Safety and Industrial, Transportation and Electronics, and Consumer. The former Health Care business was separated as Solventum in April 2024. [7]
01 · MATERIALS IN
Fluorochemicals, adhesives & specialty polymers
Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set beyond product-family description. Directional family: fluorochemical intermediates, acrylic and silicone adhesives, abrasive minerals, and specialty film resins.
Public category signal02 · MAKE
Multi-site chemical & converting manufacturing
Chemical synthesis (including historical PFAS chemistry at Decatur, AL and Cottage Grove, MN) feeding downstream coating, laminating, and converting operations across a large U.S. and global plant network.
Company described03 · PRODUCTS OUT
3 continuing business groups
Safety & Industrial, Transportation & Electronics, and Consumer, following the April 2024 spin-off of the Health Care business as Solventum. See the PFAS section for the manufacturing-exit and residual-treatment boundary.
Company described04 · WASTE OUT
Listed-chemical & PFAS streams
59.8M lb managed in 2024 TRI records across 39 matched facility leads, including 14 separate PFAS-listed chemical forms.
PFAS-listed, highest in universeWhat is public now
Ticker / CIK NYSE: MMM · SEC CIK 0000066740
FY2025 revenue & cost proxy $24.95B revenue, $14.99B reported cost proxy, period ended December 31, 2025 (SEC XBRL)
Business model Diversified industrial and consumer materials across three continuing business groups: Safety & Industrial, Transportation & Electronics, and Consumer, post-2024 Solventum spin-off
Public plant signal 39 U.S. facilities matched to a 3M parent name in the 2024 TRI dataset; the Decatur, AL chemical operations site is the top-volume named lead and a historically significant PFAS-manufacturing location
Evidence boundary
The reviewed sources do not identify a currently operating product platform using PFAS or an accepted fluorine-free substitute for a specific application. A named site and product are needed to evaluate a substitution case.
What the public record tells us
PFAS signal: 3M announced in December 2022 that it would exit PFAS manufacturing by the end of 2025. Its current stewardship page reports that the manufacturing exit was completed at the end of 2025, while remediation, asset disposition, and customer transitions remain active. Separately, 3M's FY2025 Form 10-K states total payments of $10.5 billion to $12.5 billion under the court-approved Public Water Systems Settlement, with payments from 2024 through 2036. Matched 2024 TRI records show 14 distinct PFAS-listed chemical forms; this is historical reporting, not a measure of current PFAS production.
Portfolio-simplification signal: 3M completed the spin-off of its Health Care business as an independent public company, Solventum, in April 2024, narrowing 3M itself to three continuing business groups. 3M’s FY2025 Form 10-K reports three continuing segments: Safety and Industrial, Transportation and Electronics, and Consumer.
Waste signal, with a caveat: Matched 2024 TRI records show 59.8M lb of listed chemicals managed nationally, led by ethylene glycol at the Decatur, AL site. Recycling is the largest single management category, but the PFAS-form count is the more consequential fact for a transition conversation than the aggregate weight.
Regulatory and certification signals
Regulatory watchlist EPA PFAS National Primary Drinking Water Regulation, TSCA PFAS reporting rule, state-level PFAS manufacturing and product bans, TRI listed-chemical and PFAS-form reporting
Certification & reporting families Company sustainability/ESG reporting, ISO 14001 site-level environmental management
How to use this view Full detail sits in the Regulatory section: connect each requirement to a named site before treating it as applicable
Innovation and recovery signals
Material innovation 3M reports that its PFAS manufacturing exit was completed at the end of 2025. The reviewed sources do not establish current application-level use or an accepted substitute.
Recovery pathways Closed-loop metal and polymer scrap, paint-sludge recovery, and composite recycling across Safety & Industrial and Transportation & Electronics product lines
Research scope
The reviewed sources do not map the matched TRI facilities to a current 3M product platform, active PFAS use or a specific substitution opportunity.
PFAS: the fact that shapes every other conversation
3M invented and commercialized PFOS and related fluorochemistry in the mid-20th century and has been at the center of PFAS regulatory, legal, and public-health attention for over two decades.
Highest-stakes signal in this universeThe 2025 PFAS manufacturing exit
3M announced its PFAS manufacturing-exit commitment in December 2022. Its current stewardship page reports that manufacturing ended by the close of 2025. Residual PFAS treatment, remediation, asset disposition and customer/product transitions continue. The manufacturing exit does not mean every PFAS-containing third-party product has left its portfolio. [8] [3]
The 2023 public water systems settlement
3M's FY2025 Form 10-K states that it will pay $10.5 billion to $12.5 billion in total under the court-approved Public Water Systems Settlement, with payments from 2024 through 2036. Open the FY2025 Form 10-K. This payment range is the filing's stated total for the settlement.
Named legacy manufacturing sites
3M’s Decatur, Alabama and Cottage Grove, Minnesota facilities are publicly documented as historically significant PFAS/PFOS manufacturing locations and remain subject to ongoing remediation and regulatory attention. The Decatur, AL site is also this brief’s top-matched 2024 TRI facility by managed weight (ethylene glycol), a genuine overlap between the legacy PFAS story and the current TRI evidence base worth naming directly rather than treating as coincidental.
PFAS reporting context
3M reports that it completed PFAS manufacturing at the end of 2025. The company also says that certain PFAS-containing products manufactured by third parties and used in some applications in its product portfolios will continue beyond 2025. The manufacturing exit is not evidence that every PFAS-containing product has left the portfolio. [3]
Materials entering the system
3M does not publicly itemize feedstock volumes by business group or site in this source set. The table below maps directional material families to known product-family and TRI disclosure, with PFAS-related chemistry called out separately given its regulatory and reputational weight.
Directional, public category signal| Material family | Public signal | Transition lens |
|---|---|---|
| PFAS / fluorochemical intermediates (legacy & residual) | TRI PFAS-form match, 14 forms | 3M reports that PFAS manufacturing ended at the end of 2025; this source does not establish current product-level use or substitute qualification. |
| Ethylene glycol | TRI top-chemical match | Top-reported TRI chemical by managed weight at the Decatur, AL facility |
| Acrylic & silicone adhesives | Public category signal | Core input across Safety & Industrial and Consumer tape, bonding, and mounting product lines |
| Abrasive minerals & specialty film resins | Public category signal | Feedstock for Transportation & Electronics and industrial abrasives product lines |
Financial scale context
$24.95B FY2025 revenue and a $14.99B reported cost proxy (period ended December 31, 2025, SEC XBRL) provide scale context for 3M’s total raw-material purchasing post-Solventum spin-off. Neither figure is broken out by business group, site, or material family in this source set.
Material transition focus
3M reports that it completed its PFAS manufacturing exit at the end of 2025. The reviewed sources do not identify a current product application requiring PFAS or establish an accepted substitute for a named product platform. [3]
Products leaving the sites
Publicly described product families across 3M’s three continuing business groups, post-2024 Solventum spin-off of the former Health Care segment.
Company describedIndustrial adhesives & tapes
Acrylic and silicone-based bonding, mounting, and masking products.
Safety & Industrial
Personal protective equipment
Respirators, safety glasses, and industrial PPE.
Safety & Industrial
Abrasives & automotive aftermarket
Sanding, polishing, and vehicle-care products.
Safety & Industrial, Transportation & Electronics
Electronic & display films
Optical films, electronic-grade adhesives, and connectivity components.
Transportation & Electronics
Consumer tapes, sponges & home products
Scotch, Post-it, and household product lines.
Consumer
Former specialty-fluorochemical manufacturing
3M reports completing its PFAS manufacturing exit at the end of 2025. Remediation, asset disposition and customer transitions are separate ongoing activities. This disclosure does not establish current product availability. [3]
Historical manufacturing; current product availability not established
Product and application signal
Segment and product-family descriptions are public. Plant-level output volume by product line and customer-specific specification are not publicly disclosed. Treat any specific tonnage or grade claim as directional unless sourced to a named 3M filing or technical data sheet.
Reported residual & listed-chemical signals
2024 TRI data gives a facility-level, U.S.-only view of 3M’s listed-chemical reporting, including 14 separate PFAS-listed chemical forms. This historical matched-record count does not establish current PFAS production.
Parent-name TRI match, PFAS-form leaderTop named U.S. TRI facility lead (parent-name match, unresolved)
| Facility | TRI ID | Top chemical | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3M Chemical Operations, Decatur, AL | 35602MCMPNSTATE | Ethylene glycol | Top-reported facility lead; historically significant PFAS manufacturing site |
This is a candidate facility lead from parent-name matching against 2024 U.S. TRI records, excluded from any owned/operated plant count until ownership and operating control are verified. Decatur, AL is independently, publicly documented as a historically significant PFAS/PFOA-related manufacturing site, a genuine overlap with this brief’s PFAS signal, not a coincidence of matching.
National TRI footprint (2024, aggregate across 39 matched facilities)
Facilities matched to 3M parent name 39
Total listed chemicals reported (aggregate) 59,790,838 lb
Recycled on- or off-site (aggregate) 33,705,345 lb
Treated (aggregate) 23,687,394 lb
Energy recovery (aggregate) 265,735 lb
On-site release (aggregate) 1,731,990 lb
Off-site transfer (aggregate) 296,209 lb
PFAS-listed forms reported 14 · U.S. TRI matched records, 2024
Recycling is the dominant management category by weight, but the PFAS-form count, not the aggregate tonnage, is the fact that should anchor any transition conversation with 3M. Components are shown as reported and may not sum exactly to the published total due to EPA rounding or categorization conventions.
PFAS-form signal
The matched 2024 filings predate 3M's reported end-2025 PFAS manufacturing exit. A historical form count does not establish present production or completion of remediation. [3]
Process-chemistry signal
Ethylene glycol as the top-reported chemical at a large multi-product chemical-operations site is consistent with its broad use as a solvent, coolant, and polyester-precursor intermediate rather than being PFAS-specific; the PFAS signal sits in the separate form-count metric above.
Scope limitation
TRI parent-name matching only reaches U.S. facilities filed under a 3M corporate name and only covers the specific listed chemicals tracked in this source set. It is not a complete emissions or waste inventory for 3M’s full global footprint, and it says nothing about international PFAS remediation obligations 3M has separately disclosed.
Highest-leverage public opportunities
These are Material Transition research questions, not 3M projects. The reviewed sources report that 3M completed its PFAS manufacturing exit at the end of 2025; historical TRI records do not establish current use in a specific product.
Fluorine-free chemistry qualification, named product platform
Screening candidateA product-level review could test whether any current 3M application still requires fluorinated chemistry and what alternatives meet its specification. The sources reviewed here do not identify a currently operating 3M product platform using PFAS or an accepted substitute.
- Product and application evidence, if a current fluorinated use is identified
- Required performance and regulatory specifications
- Candidate alternatives and qualification evidence, if a substitution need exists
Post-spin-off segment realignment
Qualification openThe 2024 Solventum spin-off changed 3M’s reporting structure; a review of which material-transition opportunities moved to Solventum versus remaining with 3M is a genuine, current-state clarification opportunity.
- Confirmed post-spin-off segment and product-line mapping
- Named 3M (not Solventum) plant and product
- Current segment-reporting alignment
Recycled polymer & metal content, industrial product lines
Qualification openSafety & Industrial and Transportation & Electronics abrasives, tapes, and films are a large-volume category where recycled-content substitution is a concrete, non-PFAS-related opportunity.
- Named product line and current material specification
- Recycled-content supplier qualification
- Mechanical and adhesion-performance equivalence data
Decatur, AL site-specific remediation-adjacent partnership
Site evidence neededHistorical public records identify Decatur as a significant PFAS-manufacturing location, while matched 2024 TRI records are a separate historical reporting signal. Neither establishes a current non-PFAS residual stream, available material, recoverability, or a current remediation boundary at the site; those would require current site-specific evidence.
- Named non-PFAS residual stream at Decatur
- Recovery or recycling processor relationship
- Clear separation from ongoing PFAS remediation workstreams
Priority opportunity
Qualification boundary: The reviewed sources do not establish a current 3M product platform using PFAS or a specific application with an accepted fluorine-free substitute. The completed manufacturing exit, residual treatment, remediation and customer/product transitions are distinct activities and should not be conflated.
Regulatory watchlist, certifications & innovation signals
This section summarizes PFAS-specific federal and state frameworks. Their inclusion does not establish the cause of a company decision.
| Jurisdiction | Framework | Trigger / status |
|---|---|---|
| United States (federal) | EPA PFAS National Primary Drinking Water Regulation (2024) | 3M announced its exit commitment in December 2022, before the 2024 final rule named here. This chronology does not establish that rule as a direct cause. [8] |
| United States (federal) | TSCA PFAS reporting rule | Requires reporting of PFAS manufacturing and use, relevant to 3M’s residual fluorochemical product lines |
| United States (state) | State-level PFAS manufacturing & product bans (e.g., Minnesota, Maine) | Multiple states have passed or proposed bans on PFAS in specific product categories, accelerating substitution timelines |
| United States (federal) | TRI (Toxics Release Inventory), incl. PFAS-form reporting | Facility-level listed-chemical and PFAS-specific release and management reporting for matched U.S. sites |
Regulatory applicability has not been adjudicated per site here. This is a watchlist, not a legal conclusion.
Certification & reporting families in play
Certificate scope and current status are not verified here. Certification-family relevance does not prove an active, in-scope certificate at any named site.
Innovation & capacity signals
PFAS exit commitment Publicly dated commitment to exit all PFAS manufacturing by end of 2025, announced December 2022
2023 Public Water Systems Settlement FY2025 Form 10-K: $10.5B–$12.5B total payments, scheduled from 2024 through 2036
Solventum spin-off April 2024 spin-off of the former Health Care business as an independent public company
Material Transition editorial interpretation
This brief separates the disclosed record from the evidence still needed. Bring the relevant specification, facility or product-family evidence into the review.
Sources
- [1] SEC XBRL company facts (opens in a new tab)
data.sec.gov
FY2025 revenue ($24,948,000,000) and reported cost proxy ($14,991,000,000), period ended December 31, 2025, and CIK 0000066740.
- [2] U.S. EPA TRI (opens in a new tab)
epa.gov
2024 U.S. TRI Basic Data Files. Facility, parent, chemical, and PFAS-form-level management quantities across 39 matched facilities, including the Decatur, AL lead.
- [3] 3M PFAS and their uses (opens in a new tab)
3m.com
Current company stewardship page states that 3M completed its PFAS manufacturing exit at the end of 2025, while noting ongoing remediation, asset disposition, and customer transition work.
- [4] 3M FY2025 Form 10-K, Public Water Systems Settlement (opens in a new tab)
investors.3m.com
FY2025 Form 10-K states total payments of $10.5 billion to $12.5 billion from 2024 through 2036 for the court-approved Public Water Systems Settlement; distinct from terms announced in 2023.
- [5] EPA PFAS National Primary Drinking Water Regulation (opens in a new tab)
epa.gov
Federal drinking-water limits on specific PFAS compounds, for regulatory verification.
- [6] Solventum spin-off disclosure (opens in a new tab)
solventum.com
April 2024 spin-off of 3M’s former Health Care business as an independent public company, for portfolio-scope verification.
- [7] 3M FY2025 Form 10-K, Item 1 and Note 20 (opens in a new tab)
investors.3m.com
Three continuing segments; separation of Health Care on April 1, 2024. Not a claim that every former Health Care activity disappeared from 3M.
- [8] 3M PFAS exit announcement, December 20, 2022 (opens in a new tab)
investors.3m.com
Date of the commitment. Does not establish a later final rule as its direct cause.