Key facts
- Company
- Deere & Company
- Industry
- Industrial Equipment & Automation
- Materials
- Aluminum, Cement, Minerals, PFAS, Plastics, Steel
- Processes
- Recycling, Energy recovery
- Regions
- North America
- Countries
- United States
- Evidence through
- Sources
- 11 public sources
Reported scale and scope
- FY2025 revenue
- $45.68BPeriod ended November 2, 2025 · SEC XBRL
- TRI facility leads
- 202024 U.S. match, unresolved
- Managed listed chemicals
- 623.6K lb2024 U.S. TRI, aggregate
- Segments
- 3Production & Precision Ag · Small Ag & Turf · Construction & Forestry
- Top TRI chemical
- Zinc compoundsBy managed weight, Waterloo, IA foundry
Company flow
Public evidence, arranged around Deere’s physical production system rather than the corporate org chart. Deere & Company (John Deere) is the world’s largest agricultural-equipment manufacturer by revenue, organized into three reporting segments spanning precision agriculture, smaller ag and turf equipment, and construction and forestry machinery, built on a steel-casting and precision-electronics manufacturing base that dates to the company’s 1837 founding as a plow maker.
01 · MATERIALS IN
Steel, cast iron, hydraulics & precision electronics
Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set. Directional sector family: metals, electronics, resins, composites, specialty chemicals, and semiconductors for guidance and autonomy systems.
Public category signal02 · MAKE
Foundries, drivetrain plants & final assembly
Iron casting, drivetrain machining, and final assembly across a global manufacturing network anchored by legacy Midwest U.S. foundries including Waterloo, Iowa.
Company described03 · PRODUCTS OUT
3 reporting segments
Production & Precision Agriculture, Small Agriculture & Turf, and Construction & Forestry, plus a Financial Services arm. See the Segments section for detail.
Company described04 · WASTE OUT
Listed-chemical streams
623,646 lb in the 2024 EPA TRI total production-related waste field across forms returned for the exact parent string DEERE & CO; matched facility ownership is not independently verified.
Listed-chemical viewWhat is public now
Ticker / CIK NYSE: DE · SEC CIK 0000315189
FY2025 revenue $45.68B, fiscal period ended November 2, 2025 (SEC XBRL). Deere runs an October/November fiscal year-end, not a calendar year, a genuine reporting-cycle fact worth naming to avoid mismatched-period comparisons
Business model Three equipment segments (Production & Precision Agriculture, Small Agriculture & Turf, Construction & Forestry) plus a Financial Services arm financing equipment purchases
Public plant signal 20 U.S. facilities matched to a Deere parent name in the 2024 TRI dataset; the John Deere Waterloo Works drivetrain and foundry operation is the top-volume named lead
Material question A named plant, product platform, and BOM-level material decision is the workable starting point. Deere’s three segments serve very different customers (row-crop farmers, homeowners, contractors) with different substitution economics
What the public record tells us
Precision-agriculture signal: Deere has publicly invested heavily in precision-ag technology, including GPS-guided autosteer, See & Spray targeted-herbicide application, and autonomous tractor programs. These are genuine, company-marketed capabilities with an indirect material-transition angle: targeted spraying reduces herbicide volume applied per acre, a real input-reduction story distinct from a recycled-material substitution story.
Right-to-repair signal: Deere has faced sustained public and regulatory attention (including a 2023 memorandum of understanding with the American Farm Bureau Federation and subsequent state-level right-to-repair legislation) over equipment-software repair restrictions, a genuine regulatory and reputational fact relevant to any conversation about equipment lifecycle extension or remanufacturing.
2024 TRI reporting: The captured exact-parent EPA response sums to 623,646.43 lb in the total_prod_waste field. This is a U.S. TRI form-level reporting aggregate, not a complete waste inventory or a material-availability measure. The named Waterloo facility record is a parent-name match whose ownership and operating control have not been verified.
Regulatory and certification signals
Regulatory watchlist EPA Tier 4 Final off-road diesel emissions standards, state-level right-to-repair legislation, TRI listed-chemical reporting
Certification & reporting families ISO 14001 site-level environmental management, company sustainability/ESG reporting (“Leap Ambitions” 2030 goals)
How to use this view Full detail sits in the Regulatory section: connect each requirement to a named plant or product platform before treating it as applicable
Innovation and recovery signals
Material innovation Recycled polymers and metals, bio-based fillers, PFAS-free coatings, and lower-carbon steel/aluminum sourcing across the equipment platform portfolio
Recovery pathways Deere Reman: a long-standing, publicly described remanufactured-parts business extending component life across all three equipment segments
Scope of the material question Match segment, plant, and platform separately. A Production & Precision Ag decision and a Construction & Forestry decision are unlikely to sit with the same procurement owner
Three equipment segments, one foundry heritage
Deere’s public segment structure separates large row-crop and precision-ag equipment from smaller consumer-adjacent ag/turf products and from construction and forestry machinery. Each has different customers, dealer channels, and substitution economics.
Company reported, segment structureProduction & Precision Agriculture
Deere’s largest segment: large tractors, combines, planters, and sprayers for row-crop farming, increasingly sold alongside precision-ag technology including GPS autosteer, See & Spray targeted-application systems, and autonomous-tractor programs. This is the segment where Deere’s public technology investment is most visible, and where an input-reduction (rather than material-substitution) transition story is strongest: precision application reduces herbicide, fertilizer, and fuel use per acre.
Small Agriculture & Turf
Smaller tractors, riding mowers, and turf-care equipment for smaller farms, golf courses, and residential customers, sold through a different, higher-volume dealer channel than the Production & Precision Ag segment’s large-equipment customers.
Construction & Forestry
Excavators, dozers, graders, and forestry harvesting equipment, serving contractors and forestry operators, a customer base and use-profile distinct from the agricultural segments.
Right-to-repair context
Deere has been a focal point of the U.S. right-to-repair debate, given equipment-software locks that restrict farmer and independent-shop repairs. A January 2023 memorandum of understanding with the American Farm Bureau Federation committed Deere to expand access to repair tools and documentation, and multiple U.S. states have since passed agricultural right-to-repair legislation. This is directly relevant to any equipment-lifecycle-extension or remanufacturing conversation and should be acknowledged, not avoided.
Materials entering the system
Deere does not publicly itemize feedstock volumes by segment or plant in this source set. The table below maps directional material families to known plant and segment disclosure, using TRI data as the anchor point.
Directional, public category signal| Material family | Public signal | Transition lens |
|---|---|---|
| Steel & cast iron (frames, castings, drivetrain) | Public category signal | Not itemized by volume at parent level; the Waterloo, IA facility is a named foundry and drivetrain-operations lead |
| Zinc (galvanizing & coating) | TRI top-chemical match | Top-reported TRI chemical by managed weight at the highest-volume matched facility |
| Hydraulic fluids, resins & composites | Public category signal | Feedstock for hydraulic systems and cab/body components across all three segments |
| Precision-electronics & semiconductor content | Public category signal | Input to GPS guidance, See & Spray, and autonomy systems; supplier-specific sourcing not in this source set |
Financial scale context
$45.68B FY2025 revenue (fiscal period ended November 2, 2025, SEC XBRL). A current Deere cost figure is not established in this brief.
Material transition focus
The practical entry point is segment- and plant-specific: lower-carbon steel or recycled-content castings at a named foundry, PFAS-free coatings for exposed equipment surfaces, or extended-life hydraulic-fluid formulations, each evaluated against the segment-level materials-engineering and procurement owner.
Products leaving the plants
Publicly described equipment families across Deere’s three segments, each serving a distinct customer base with different purchase cycles and material specifications.
Company describedRow-crop tractors
Large tractors for row-crop farming, increasingly sold with precision-ag guidance and automation packages.
Production & Precision Agriculture
Combines & harvesting equipment
Grain and specialty-crop harvesting machinery.
Production & Precision Agriculture
Planters & sprayers (incl. See & Spray)
Precision planting and targeted-application spraying equipment.
Production & Precision Agriculture
Compact tractors & riding mowers
Smaller equipment for smaller farms, acreage owners, and turf-care customers.
Small Agriculture & Turf
Excavators, dozers & graders
Earthmoving and site-preparation equipment for contractors.
Construction & Forestry
Forestry harvesting equipment
Feller bunchers, harvesters, and forwarders for timber operations.
Construction & Forestry
Deere Reman: remanufactured parts
Deere Reman is a long-standing, publicly described remanufactured-parts business supplying refurbished components (engines, hydraulic pumps, and other high-wear parts) across all three equipment segments, a genuine circular-economy activity already embedded in Deere’s aftermarket business, not a hypothesis.
Product and application signal
Segment and product-family descriptions are public. Plant-level output volume by product line and customer-specific specification are not publicly disclosed. Treat any specific tonnage or BOM claim as directional unless sourced to a named Deere filing or technical data sheet.
Reported residual & listed-chemical signals
2024 TRI data gives a facility-level, U.S.-only view of Deere’s listed-chemical reporting, concentrated at the Waterloo, IA drivetrain and foundry operation, one of Deere’s oldest and largest manufacturing sites.
Parent-name TRI matchTop named U.S. TRI facility lead (parent-name match, unresolved)
| Facility | TRI ID | Top chemical | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| John Deere Waterloo Works Drivetrain Operations and Foundry, Waterloo, IA | 50704JHNDR400WE | Zinc compounds | Top-reported facility lead |
This is a candidate facility lead from parent-name matching against 2024 U.S. TRI records, excluded from any owned/operated plant count until ownership and operating control are verified.
National TRI footprint (2024, aggregate across 20 matched facilities)
Facilities matched to Deere parent name 20
Total listed chemicals reported (aggregate) 623,646 lb
Recycled on- or off-site (aggregate) 137,221 lb
Treated (aggregate) 44,135 lb
Energy recovery (aggregate) 2,179 lb
On-site release (aggregate) 131,361 lb
PFAS-listed forms reported 0
EPA's captured 2024 response reports 623,646.43 lb in the total_prod_waste field across forms returned for the exact parent string DEERE & CO. The listed recycling, treatment, energy-recovery and release fields are independently reported measures; they do not form a reconciled, mutually exclusive partition of that total and should not be added together. Parent-name matching does not establish current ownership or operating control, and these figures do not identify material available for recovery. EPA DMAP capture
Foundry-and-coating signal
Zinc compounds as the top-reported chemical at a named foundry and drivetrain-operations site is consistent with galvanizing, plating, or coating processes applied to cast and machined components before final assembly. This is a directional read of the facility’s known function, not a process-specific confirmation.
Tier 4 emissions context
Off-road diesel engines used across Deere’s equipment lines are subject to EPA Tier 4 Final emissions standards, which have driven substantial engine-technology investment industry-wide (selective catalytic reduction, diesel particulate filters). This is a structural regulatory fact shaping engine and emissions-system material choices; see the Regulatory section.
Scope limitation
TRI parent-name matching only reaches U.S. facilities filed under a Deere parent name and only covers the specific listed chemicals tracked in this source set. It is not a complete emissions or waste inventory for Deere’s full global footprint, and it says nothing about Deere’s international manufacturing operations.
Highest-leverage public opportunities
Each hypothesis connects a public TRI, segment, or technology signal to a specific transition pathway, ranked by fit given Deere’s three-segment equipment structure.
Foundry zinc & coating-residue recovery
Screening candidateZinc compounds as the top-reported chemical at the named Waterloo, IA foundry points to a concrete recovery-economics opportunity in galvanizing and coating residue handling.
- Named plant and zinc-residue volume
- Recovery-processor relationship
- Economics vs. current off-site transfer
Extend Deere Reman to new component categories
Screening candidateDeere’s existing remanufactured-parts business is a genuine foundation; extending it to new high-wear components reduces virgin-material demand without a new business model.
- Named component category and current reman coverage
- Core-return logistics for a new category
- Cross-segment applicability (ag vs. construction)
Lower-carbon steel & recycled-content castings
Qualification openStructural frames and castings across all three segments are a large-volume steel-purchasing category where recycled-content or lower-carbon steel qualification is a concrete, plant-level substitution project.
- Named plant and casting specification
- Lower-carbon or recycled-content steel supplier qualification
- Mechanical-property equivalence data
PFAS-free coatings for exposed equipment surfaces
Qualification openOutdoor equipment surfaces require durable, weather-resistant coatings; PFAS-free formulation qualification is a concrete, spec-driven substitution opportunity distinct from bulk-material work.
- Named product line and current coating specification
- PFAS-free coating supplier qualification
- Weathering and durability equivalence data
Priority opportunity
Start with one plant and one component category, not the enterprise logo. Deere’s three segments serve row-crop farmers, homeowners, and contractors respectively, with different procurement owners and purchase cycles; the Waterloo, IA foundry’s named zinc signal is the most concrete, evidenced starting point available today.
Regulatory watchlist, certifications & innovation signals
Deere’s regulatory profile spans off-road diesel emissions standards and the increasingly prominent right-to-repair legislative movement, alongside standard TRI reporting.
| Jurisdiction | Framework | Trigger / status |
|---|---|---|
| United States (federal) | EPA Tier 4 Final off-road diesel emissions standards | Emissions-control requirements for diesel engines used across Deere’s agricultural and construction equipment lines |
| United States (state) | Agricultural right-to-repair legislation | Multiple U.S. states have passed or considered legislation requiring equipment manufacturers to provide repair tools and documentation; follows a 2023 Deere/American Farm Bureau Federation memorandum of understanding |
| United States (federal) | TRI (Toxics Release Inventory) | Facility-level listed-chemical release and management reporting for matched U.S. sites |
| United States (federal) | Clean Water Act discharge permits (NPDES) | Process and cooling-water discharge permitting applicable to foundry and manufacturing sites generally |
Regulatory applicability has not been adjudicated per site here. This is a watchlist, not a legal conclusion.
Certification & reporting families in play
Certificate scope and current status are not verified here. Certification-family relevance does not prove an active, in-scope certificate at any named plant.
Innovation & capacity signals
Precision-ag input reduction GPS autosteer and See & Spray targeted-application technology reduce herbicide, fertilizer, and fuel use per acre, a company-marketed input-reduction capability
Autonomy programs Publicly demonstrated autonomous-tractor programs for row-crop applications
Remanufacturing Deere Reman: established remanufactured-parts business across all three equipment segments
Right-to-repair commitments 2023 memorandum of understanding with the American Farm Bureau Federation on repair-tool and documentation access
Material Transition editorial interpretation
This brief separates the disclosed record from the evidence still needed. Bring the relevant specification, facility or product-family evidence into the review.
Sources
- [1] SEC XBRL company facts (opens in a new tab)
data.sec.gov
FY2025 revenue ($45,684,000,000), fiscal period ended November 2, 2025, and CIK 0000315189. A reported cost proxy is stale/unavailable in the underlying dataset and is not used as a current figure in this brief.
- [2] U.S. EPA TRI (opens in a new tab)
epa.gov
2024 U.S. TRI Basic Data Files. Facility, parent, chemical, and management quantities across 20 matched facilities, including the Waterloo, IA lead.
- [3] Deere & Company investor relations (opens in a new tab)
investor.deere.com
Company description of segment structure (Production & Precision Agriculture, Small Agriculture & Turf, Construction & Forestry) and plant locations.
- [4] EPA Tier 4 off-road diesel standards (opens in a new tab)
epa.gov
Emissions-control requirements applicable to Deere’s diesel-powered equipment lines, for regulatory verification.
- [5] American Farm Bureau Federation / Deere right-to-repair MOU (opens in a new tab)
fb.org
2023 memorandum of understanding on repair-tool and documentation access, for regulatory-context verification.
- [6] Deere Reman (opens in a new tab)
deere.com
Company-described remanufactured-parts business, for circularity-claim verification.
- [7] Current source · Sustainability reports (opens in a new tab)
investor.deere.com
John Deere, official report library. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
- [8] Current source · 2024 Sustainability Data Book (opens in a new tab)
deere.com
John Deere, official data book. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
- [9] Current source · REMAN core returns (opens in a new tab)
shop.deere.com
John Deere, official service disclosure. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
- [10] Current source · Product circularity and remanufacturing (opens in a new tab)
deere.com
John Deere, official sustainability report. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
- [11] EPA DMAP query capture: 2024 TRI forms matched to DEERE & CO (opens in a new tab)
data.epa.gov
Read-only EPA DMAP response for 2024 reporting forms returned under exact parent-name equality. The total_prod_waste aggregate and the independently reported management fields are not a reconciled, mutually exclusive partition. No matched parent string proves current ownership or operating control, and no reported aggregate establishes recoverable or available material.