Key facts
- Company
- Kimberly-Clark
- Industry
- Consumer Goods & Apparel
- Materials
- Aluminum, Organics, Paper and fiber, PFAS, Plastics, Textile fibers, Water
- Processes
- Recycling, Wastewater treatment, Energy recovery
- Evidence through
- Sources
- 8 public sources
Reported scale and scope
- FY2025 net sales
- $16.447BYear ended December 31, 2025
- TRI facility leads
- 52024 U.S. match
- Managed listed chemicals
- 658K lb2024 U.S. listed-chemical data
- Products out
- 3 familiesPublicly described
- Top TRI chemical
- Nitrate compounds (water-dissociable)By managed weight
Company research
Revenue basis: This page uses Kimberly-Clark's reported FY2025 net sales of $16.447B (year ended December 31, 2025), per its 10-K and year-end results release. An SEC XBRL value of $4.080B for the period ending December 31, 2025 is about one quarter of that figure ($16.447B ÷ 4 ≈ $4.11B), so it is read as a single-quarter value and is not used as annual revenue. Open source →
Company flow
Public evidence, arranged around the physical system rather than the corporate org chart.
01 · MATERIALS IN
Feedstock & input family
Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set. Directional sector family only: packaging, fiber, aluminum, polymers, ingredients, personal
Public category signal02 · MAKE
Personal Care
Huggies, Kotex, and Depend, diapers, feminine care, and adult incontinence products built on superabsorbent-polymer and nonwoven fiber core
Company described03 · PRODUCTS OUT
3 public product families
Huggies / Kotex / Depend, Kleenex / Scott / Cottonelle, and 1 more described lines.
Company described04 · WASTE OUT
Listed-chemical streams
658K lb managed in 2024 TRI records across 5 matched facility leads.
Listed-chemical viewWhat is public now
Buyer-side sector Consumer, food & retail
Waste-side sector Food, consumer, pulp & packaging
Segments Personal Care; Consumer Tissue; K-C Professional
Public plant signal 5 TRI facility leads define the public operating footprint
Segment breakdown
Personal Care Huggies, Kotex, and Depend, diapers, feminine care, and adult incontinence products built on superabsorbent-polymer and nonwoven fiber cores.
Consumer Tissue Kleenex, Scott, and Cottonelle tissue and towel products, manufactured at cellulose-fiber mills including Owensboro, KY and Loudon, TN.
K-C Professional Commercial washroom, wiping and PPE products. Kimberly-Clark's 2018 RightCycle release lists qualifying nitrile gloves, single-use apparel and polypropylene wipers; it does not establish acceptance of tissue-mill trim. Program source
Regulatory watchlist
State Extended Producer Responsibility for packaging (multiple U.S. states)
EU Single-Use Plastics Directive relevance for wet wipes
PFAS restrictions in food-contact and personal-care packaging
EPA Clean Water Act effluent guidelines for pulp and tissue mills
Certification families to check
Fiber sourcing (2025): 95% of tissue fiber from environmentally preferred sources; FSC-certified virgin wood fiber was 77% of total virgin-fiber purchases.
ISO 14001
Evidence boundary: Kimberly-Clark describes a K-C Professional RightCycle program, including eligible nitrile gloves, single-use apparel and polypropylene wipers. The public material reviewed here does not show that the program accepts nonwoven or superabsorbent-polymer trim from the three named facility leads, nor does it establish that any such material is available for recovery. Program source
Products leaving the system
Publicly described product families and segments define Kimberly-Clark's outward material flow.
Company describedHuggies / Kotex / Depend
Diaper, feminine-care, and incontinence products built on superabsorbent polymer and nonwoven fiber.
Segment: Personal Care
Kleenex / Scott / Cottonelle
Tissue and towel products manufactured at fiber mills including Owensboro, KY and Loudon, TN, two of the three named TRI leads.
Segment: Consumer Tissue
K-C Professional wipers & PPE
Commercial nonwoven wiping and protective-equipment products, the direct input stream to the RightCycle recycling program.
Segment: K-C Professional
Product and application signal
The cited product and segment pages identify product families and applications. This brief does not include grade- or SKU-level technical, safety, packaging, or certification records.
Materials entering Kimberly-Clark's system
Directional material-family signal, matched against the company's public segment structure and TRI-listed chemical evidence.
Public category signal| Material family | Public signal | Transition lens |
|---|---|---|
| Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set | Directional sector family | Substitution, origin resilience, recycled or bio-based content |
| Top TRI-listed chemical: Nitrate compounds (water-dissociable) | TRI-verified, 2024 | Owensboro, KY is the largest of three named leads at 370.5K lb, followed by Loudon, TN and Jenks, OK, all reporting nitrate compounds as the top chemical, consistent with wastewater treatment at fiber-processing mills rather than a core production input. |
| Recycled, bio-based, or recovered inputs | Public program signal | See Packaging and Opportunities tabs for named public programs |
Financial scale context
$16.447B FY2025 net sales (year ended December 31, 2025) provides scale context for sourcing and waste opportunities. It is not a materials-spend measure.
Material transition focus
TRI-listed chemical stream is public; exact material mapping still requires facility and chemical review. Directional residual forms only: organic residuals, fiber sludge, wastewater residuals, trim, off-spec product, and packaging.
Packaging and circularity programs
Public circularity, recycling, and take-back signals connect Kimberly-Clark's product system to a packaging or materials transition pathway.
Packaging & circularity signalRightCycle Program
Kimberly-Clark's 2018 release says RightCycle had diverted more than 300 tons cumulatively since its 2011 launch. It lists qualifying nitrile gloves, single-use apparel and polypropylene wipers, subject to contamination exclusions. This historical milestone is not current annual throughput or proof of tissue-mill trim acceptance. Program source
Fiber sourcing
Kimberly-Clark's 2025 report says 95% of tissue fiber came from environmentally preferred sources, a category that includes FSC-certified virgin fiber, recycled fiber and sustainable alternative non-wood fiber. Separately, FSC-certified virgin wood fiber represented 77% of total virgin-fiber purchases. These are sourcing measures, not the share of finished products with FSC certification. 2025 Sustainability Report
2030 Ambition, Natural Forest Free
Kimberly-Clark's 2025 report says it reached 95% of tissue fiber from environmentally preferred sources, above its 90% 2025 milestone. Its 2030 Natural Forest Free ambition is a separate longer-term commitment.
Wastewater nitrate signal
Nitrate compounds, the TRI-reported top chemical at all three named mills, are a common effluent-treatment byproduct at pulp and tissue operations, consistent with the Clean Water Act effluent-guideline framework these mills operate under.
Packaging & circularity opportunities
Extend RightCycle to mill trim
ExploreApply K-C Professional's own proven nonwoven/PPE diversion model to nonwoven and superabsorbent-polymer trim generated at Owensboro, Loudon, and Jenks.
Fiber-certificate scope verification
Evidence firstKimberly-Clark's 2025 report separately reports that 95% of tissue fiber came from environmentally preferred sources and FSC-certified virgin wood fiber represented 77% of total virgin-fiber purchases. These are different sourcing measures, not a finished-product FSC certification rate. 2025 report source
Reported residual streams
The EPA 2024 Basic Data File returns six forms across five TRI facility IDs for the exact standard-parent-name match KIMBERLY-CLARK CORP. These are listed-chemical records, not a complete waste-flow inventory or verified current site-ownership list. EPA TRI source and method
2024 U.S. listed-chemical data657,963 lb of on-site releases in six matched 2024 TRI forms
- Off-site recycling
- 0 lb recorded
- Off-site energy recovery
- 0 lb recorded
- Off-site treatment
- 0 lb recorded
- Total transfer
- 0 lb recorded
Scope: The values describe listed-chemical reporting in the six returned forms. They do not describe total company waste, establish current facility ownership or operations, or prove a recoverable material stream. EPA TRI source and method
Named public facility leads
Kimberly-Clark Corp Owensboro Operations · Owensboro, KY 370,509 lb
Kimberly-Clark Corp Loudon Mill · Loudon, TN 191,400 lb
Kimberly-Clark Corp · Jenks, OK 52,037 lb
What determines a viable recovery route: validate legal owner, operator, process, stream identity, assay, contamination, current disposition, permit fit, receiving specification, and delivered economics.
Potential receiving markets
RightCycle-style specialty recyclers
Kimberly-Clark's 2018 release describes RightCycle for qualifying nitrile gloves, single-use apparel and polypropylene wipers, subject to contamination exclusions. It does not establish that the program accepts nonwoven or superabsorbent-polymer trim from the Owensboro, Loudon or Jenks tissue mills. Program source
Recycled-fiber mills
A standing buyer class for tissue-mill trim and off-spec fiber, subject to source separation and chain-of-custody evidence.
Composters
Candidate receivers for organic residuals from fiber processing, subject to contamination and moisture limits.
Packaging converters
Downstream buyers for any qualified recycled-content packaging film or fiber board.
Fiber and recovery evidence boundaries
Highest-leverage public opportunities
These opportunity hypotheses connect Kimberly-Clark's public product, TRI, and circularity-program signals to specific material-transition pathways.
Extend RightCycle to consumer-tissue mills
Evidence firstK-C Professional describes its RightCycle program, but the reviewed sources do not establish that its intake specifications cover nonwoven or superabsorbent-polymer trim from these named tissue mills. No site-level stream volume or current receiving route is verified here. Program source
- Trim-stream volume by mill
- RightCycle intake spec
- Program extension sign-off
FSC certificate-scope verification
Certificate checkThe 2025 report's 95% tissue-fiber measure and 77% virgin-fiber purchase measure have different denominators; neither is a product-level FSC-certification rate. Source
- Certificate number and holder
- Mill-level scope
- Expiry and registry check
TRI reporting scope
Data closureIn the six exact-parent 2024 forms, on-site releases total 657,962.71 lb; off-site recycling, energy recovery, treatment and total transfer each record 0 lb. These listed-chemical records are not a complete waste-flow or current-ownership inventory. EPA TRI source and method
- Facility-level TRI pull
- Category reconciliation
- Corrected public disclosure
Evidence boundary
Public disclosures describe K-C Professional's RightCycle program and company-wide fiber-sourcing measures. They do not establish that the three facility leads generate a particular trim stream, that such material is accepted by RightCycle, or that it is available for recovery. The 2025 fiber percentages are company-level sourcing measures, not product- or mill-specific certifications. Fiber source · Program source
Material Transition editorial interpretation
This brief separates the disclosed record from the evidence still needed. Bring the relevant specification, facility or product-family evidence into the review.
Sources
- [1] www.investor.kimberly-clark.com (opens in a new tab)
investor.kimberly-clark.com
- [2] U.S. EPA TRI (opens in a new tab)
epa.gov
2024 U.S. TRI Basic Data Files, facility, parent, chemical, and management-category quantities.
- [3] U.S. SEC, Company Facts (opens in a new tab)
data.sec.gov
SEC XBRL Company Facts for Kimberly-Clark Corp, CIK 0000055785.
- [4] Kimberly-Clark Professional, RightCycle expansion (opens in a new tab)
investor.kimberly-clark.com
Official release describing the RightCycle program's scope and expansion into industrial environments.
- [5] Kimberly-Clark, Forests & Biodiversity (opens in a new tab)
kimberly-clark.com
Official fiber-sourcing page citing the ~97% FSC-certified tissue figure and 2030 Ambition targets.
- [6] Kimberly-Clark 2025 Sustainability Report, fiber measures (opens in a new tab)
kimberly-clark.com
A short exact-passage excerpt was retained from the official report's rendered search result. The report distinguishes 95% of tissue fiber from environmentally preferred sources (including FSC-certified virgin, recycled and sustainable alternative non-wood fiber) from 77% FSC-certified virgin wood fiber as a share of total virgin-fiber purchases. Neither figure means that 97% of finished products are FSC-certified.
- [7] Kimberly-Clark Professional RightCycle program release (opens in a new tab)
investor.kimberly-clark.com
Kimberly-Clark's January 2018 company release reports a cumulative 300-ton diversion since 2011 and lists eligible items and exclusions. This historical milestone is not current annual throughput or evidence that named consumer-tissue mill trim is accepted.
- [8] U.S. EPA TRI 2024 Basic Data File, exact-parent extraction (opens in a new tab)
data.epa.gov
Raw EPA 2024 Basic CSV, filtered by exact standard-parent-name equality and year. Six forms across five distinct TRI IDs sum to 657,962.71 lb of on-site releases; off-site recycling, energy recovery, treatment, and total-transfer fields each record 0 lb across these forms. These are listed-chemical TRI records, not a complete waste-flow inventory, ownership census, or proof of current operations.
Topics in this brief