Steel and mining company

ArcelorMittal

ArcelorMittal's material-transition lane is already operating at industrial scale: its 2025 report records 17.7 million tonnes of steel scrap recycled across EAF and BOF operations and 9.6 million tonnes of blast-furnace slag used as cement raw material. The commercial question is which plant, route and customer specification can turn that circularity into a qualified product decision.

Industry
Metals & Mining
Evidence through
Sources
12 public

Key facts

Company
ArcelorMittal
Industry
Metals & Mining
Materials
Cement, Metals, Minerals, PFAS, Steel
Processes
Recycling
Evidence through

Company overview

ArcelorMittal's 2025 report records 17.7 million tonnes of steel scrap recycled across EAF and BOF operations and 9.6 million tonnes of blast-furnace slag used as cement raw material. These are company-reported group measures; the cited figures do not identify plant-level volumes, external availability, or a specific customer project.

Reported scale and scope

2025 crude steel production
63.43 MtWorld Steel Association
Reported cost proxy
$56.98BFY2025 · SEC XBRL
U.S. EPA TRI diagnostic
22 forms · 4 candidate facility IDs2024 API query; not an ownership census
Reported TRI total_prod_waste
19.81M lbCurrent candidate-set sum; not total residual mass
Reported on/off-site recycling fields
19.28M lbCurrent candidate-set sum; not recovered-product supply

Company flow

Unlike Nucor’s U.S.-only, scrap-based electric-arc-furnace model, ArcelorMittal is a Luxembourg-headquartered, globally integrated steelmaker running a mixed fleet of traditional blast-furnace/basic-oxygen-furnace (BF-BOF) plants, electric-arc-furnace (EAF) mills, and a growing direct-reduced-iron (DRI) capacity, a structurally different starting point for any material-transition conversation.

01 · MATERIALS IN

Iron ore, coking coal & scrap (mixed route)

Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set beyond production-route description. Directional family: iron ore and coking coal for BF-BOF routes, natural gas and iron-ore pellets for DRI routes, and ferrous scrap for EAF routes.

Public category signal

02 · MAKE

Mixed BF-BOF, EAF & DRI production

Integrated blast-furnace steelmaking remains the majority route globally, supplemented by EAF mills and an expanding DRI/HBI capacity as part of the company’s public decarbonization roadmap.

Company described

03 · PRODUCTS OUT

63.43 Mt crude steel (2025)

Flat and long steel products for automotive, construction, packaging, and industrial customers across a global plant network. See the Products section for detail.

World Steel Association reported

04 · U.S. TRI DIAGNOSTIC

Listed-chemical reporting

A current EPA API query returned 22 forms across four candidate TRI facility IDs. The selected set is not a complete company site census and does not quantify total steelmaking residues or recovered-product supply. See the Waste section for the query boundary.

U.S. candidate-set view

What is public now

Ticker / CIK NYSE: MT · SEC CIK 0001243429

2025 crude steel production 63.43 million tonnes (World Steel Association), the world’s second-largest steel producer by volume

Reported cost proxy $56.98B, period ended December 31, 2025 (SEC XBRL). A clean current-year revenue figure is stale or unavailable in the underlying dataset; do not treat the cost proxy as a revenue substitute

Production model Globally mixed: integrated BF-BOF steelmaking as the majority route, plus EAF mills and an expanding DRI/HBI capacity, structurally different from a U.S. EAF-only mini-mill producer

U.S. TRI query boundary The earlier six-facility match list was not preserved. A current candidate-set query returned 22 forms across four facility IDs; it is not a complete or ownership-verified site census. See the Waste section for the field totals and query method.

What the public record tells us

Production-route signal: ArcelorMittal’s BF-BOF-majority route is structurally more carbon- and virgin-material-intensive per tonne than an EAF/scrap-based competitor like Nucor, a genuine, publicly acknowledged fact behind the company’s own decarbonization investment. This is not a criticism to hide from; it is the starting frame for a credible transition conversation.

Ownership update: ArcelorMittal completed its acquisition of Nippon Steel's 50% stake in AM/NS Calvert on June 18, 2025 and renamed the facility ArcelorMittal Calvert. The EPA TRI parent field in this query returns NA for the Calvert form; it is not the evidence for this ownership change.

XCarb signal: ArcelorMittal publicly markets a “XCarb” family of lower-carbon and recycled-steel product lines, alongside disclosed DRI-EAF transition investments in Europe. Confirm current XCarb product availability, certified-emissions methodology, and specific plant conversion timelines in ArcelorMittal’s own latest disclosure before citing a specific volume or date.

Regulatory and certification signals

Regulatory watchlist EU Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (CBAM), EU Emissions Trading System (ETS), U.S. Clean Air Act NESHAP for integrated iron and steel, TRI listed-chemical reporting

Certification & reporting families ResponsibleSteel certification (where in place), company sustainability/ESG reporting, ISO 14001 site-level environmental management

How to use this view Full detail sits in the Regulatory section: connect each requirement to a named plant and jurisdiction before treating it as applicable

Innovation and recovery signals

Material innovation XCarb-branded lower-carbon and recycled-content steel; DRI-EAF conversion investment at select European sites

Recovery pathways Slag valorization, mill-scale recovery, and metal-bearing residue beneficiation at named plants

Commercial context Match each plant, production route, and jurisdiction separately. ArcelorMittal Calvert has been under ArcelorMittal's control since June 2025; the company's European DRI-EAF projects have separate site-specific status and regulatory boundaries

A global integrated steelmaker, not a U.S. mini-mill

ArcelorMittal runs a globally distributed, majority-BF-BOF production system rather than a U.S.-only, scrap-fed EAF fleet. This brief describes that footprint, the company’s public decarbonization roadmap, and where the named U.S. TRI facility fits into a much larger global picture.

Global footprint, U.S. TRI is a partial view

BF-BOF, EAF & DRI: three routes, one company

Most of ArcelorMittal’s global crude-steel output runs through integrated blast-furnace/basic-oxygen-furnace (BF-BOF) plants across Europe, the Americas, and other regions, a route that reduces virgin iron ore and coking coal and is structurally more carbon-intensive than electric-arc-furnace (EAF) scrap-melting. ArcelorMittal also operates EAF capacity, including at ArcelorMittal Calvert, which the company renamed after acquiring Nippon Steel's interest in June 2025. The company also describes direct-reduced-iron (DRI) and hot-briquetted-iron (HBI) capacity and lower-carbon DRI-EAF investment. Verify current project status and site-specific production-route detail in the latest company disclosure before citing a specific plant.

ArcelorMittal Calvert: updated ownership

ArcelorMittal acquired Nippon Steel's 50% stake in AM/NS Calvert on June 18, 2025, took control, and renamed the facility ArcelorMittal Calvert. The EPA 2024 TRI form for the named facility lists its parent as NA; that field does not establish the ownership change or make this site the top-volume match.

XCarb: the company’s lower-carbon steel brand

XCarb is ArcelorMittal’s publicly marketed umbrella brand for lower-carbon and recycled-content steel offerings, including recycled-and-renewably-produced certified steel and green-steel initiatives tied to its DRI-EAF investment program. This is a genuine, named commercial program, not a hypothesis, though current product availability, certified-emissions methodology, and volume should be confirmed directly with ArcelorMittal before being cited in a specific customer conversation.

What the U.S. TRI candidate set can show

The current EPA query returned 22 forms across four candidate facility IDs, assembled from a parent-name search plus one previously named Calvert ID. This is not a complete or ownership-certified site list. It cannot establish how many ArcelorMittal facilities filed TRI forms, quantify global emissions or residuals, or support an extrapolation from the U.S. query set to the worldwide business.

Materials entering the system

ArcelorMittal does not publicly itemize feedstock volumes by plant or production route in this source set. The table below maps directional material families to the company’s known mixed-route production model, using TRI and World Steel Association data as anchor points.

Directional, public category signal
Material familyPublic signalTransition lens
Iron ore & coking coal (BF-BOF route) Public category signal Majority global production route; not itemized by volume at parent level in this source set
Ferrous scrap (EAF route; includes ArcelorMittal Calvert) Public category signal Secondary route alongside BF-BOF; scrap-quality and sourcing detail not disclosed here
Listed chemicals in U.S. TRI forms Current API candidate-set diagnostic Form totals describe listed-chemical reporting, not total process residuals, ownership, or available recovered material
Natural gas & iron-ore pellets (DRI/HBI route) Public category signal Feedstock for the company’s expanding lower-carbon DRI-EAF investment program

Financial & production scale context

A $56.98B reported cost proxy (period ended December 31, 2025, SEC XBRL) and 63.43 million tonnes of 2025 crude steel production (World Steel Association) provide two independent scale anchors. The available sources do not establish a current-year revenue figure in this brief; the reported cost proxy is not a revenue substitute.

Material transition focus

The public evidence describes different production routes and company-level circularity measures, but does not establish a selected plant, active sourcing project, externally available stream, or customer partnership. Any site-level material-flow conclusion requires evidence for that facility, process, and reporting period.

Products leaving the plants

Publicly described product families across ArcelorMittal’s global flat- and long-steel operations, serving automotive, construction, packaging, and industrial end markets.

Company / World Steel Association described

Flat steel (sheet, coil, plate)

Hot-rolled, cold-rolled, and coated flat steel, including automotive-grade sheet.

Automotive, appliance, general manufacturing

Long steel (bar, rebar, structural)

Structural shapes and reinforcing bar for construction.

Commercial and infrastructure construction

Packaging steel (tinplate)

Coated steel for food and beverage cans and packaging.

Food & beverage packaging

XCarb-branded lower-carbon & recycled steel

Company-marketed certified lower-carbon and recycled-content steel offerings.

Customers seeking certified lower-carbon steel

Automotive-grade advanced high-strength steel

Lightweighting-focused steel grades for vehicle bodies.

Automotive OEMs

Mining & raw-material products

ArcelorMittal also operates mining assets supplying its own steelmaking and third-party customers.

Internal feedstock and merchant iron-ore sales

Product and application signal

Segment and product-family descriptions are public at the global company level. Plant-level output volume by product line and customer-specific specification are not publicly disclosed in this source set. Treat any specific tonnage or grade claim as directional unless sourced to a named ArcelorMittal filing or World Steel Association dataset.

Reported residual & listed-chemical signals

EPA TRI records provide a U.S. facility-level view of listed-chemical reporting, not a complete inventory of steelmaking residuals. The former six-facility aggregate on this page could not be reproduced from the current API query, so its figures and facility ranking are removed. The current query is a bounded diagnostic, not a global company footprint.

Candidate-set construction

The query used facility IDs returned by EPA's current TRI facility table where the reported parent-company name contains ARCELORMITTAL, plus the Calvert ID already named in this brief. It returned four reporting facility IDs. Parent-name matching and TRI parent fields do not establish ownership or operating control.

Current EPA API diagnostic (reporting year 2024)

Returned population: 22 chemical forms across four candidate facility IDs.

EPA total_prod_waste fields: 19,810,727 lb across this query set.

Current-year recycling fields: 19,281,366 lb summed across the on-site and off-site recycling fields.

These are narrowly scoped form-field sums, not mutually exclusive total mass, overall steelmaking residuals, an ownership-complete corporate aggregate, or available recovered-product supply. See the linked source for query inputs, every returned form and exact field values.

EPA query and field reconciliation

The former aggregate cannot be compared with global crude-steel production as an intensity or residual-share measure: the datasets use different measures, geographies, reporting years, and entity boundaries. This query does not estimate global slag, mill-scale, or other residual volumes.

What the TRI fields do not show

Reported on- or off-site chemical-waste management categories are not a verified yield of recovered product. The current query does not identify material grades, destinations, buyer acceptance, or quantities available for sale.

CBAM & EU ETS context

ArcelorMittal’s much larger European production base sits under the EU Emissions Trading System and the incoming Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism, frameworks with no U.S. TRI equivalent. These are the dominant regulatory and cost drivers for ArcelorMittal’s decarbonization investment, not U.S. environmental rules; see the Regulatory section.

Scope limitation

The candidate IDs were selected by a parent-company name search plus one facility ID already named in the route. This is not a verified owned-and-operated facility list, a complete site census, or an inventory of all waste streams. TRI data cover listed chemicals and defined reporting categories; they do not establish total physical residuals or recovered-product availability.

Publicly reported transition signals

The items below summarize company-reported activity and public product or investment disclosures. They are not qualified sourcing leads, available material streams, customer programs, or a ranking of commercial fit.

Steel-scrap recycling disclosure

Company-reported activity

ArcelorMittal's 2025 report records 17.7 million tonnes of steel scrap recycled across EAF and BOF operations. The cited disclosure does not identify site-level quantities, the split between internal and external flows, or material available to other users.

  • Facility and production-route allocation
  • Whether reported scrap is internally recycled or externally sourced
  • Any independently documented surplus or third-party availability

Blast-furnace slag use

Company-reported activity

ArcelorMittal's 2025 report records 9.6 million tonnes of blast-furnace slag used as cement raw material. The cited disclosure does not allocate this quantity by facility, identify counterparties or contracts, or establish uncommitted material availability.

  • Facility-level quantity and reporting boundary
  • Documented use, destination, and any third-party arrangement
  • Evidence of material specification and uncommitted availability, if claimed

XCarb product disclosures

Public product information

ArcelorMittal publicly describes XCarb-branded lower-carbon and recycled-steel products. This brief does not establish product-specific current availability, a customer application, delivered volumes, or a verified emissions comparison.

  • Current product specifications and geographic availability
  • Product-specific emissions methodology and boundary
  • Certification, chain-of-custody, and dated delivery evidence for any quantified claim

DRI and EAF investment disclosures

Company-reported investment activity

ArcelorMittal describes DRI/EAF-related investment in Europe. Project status, operating dates, plant-level output, input sourcing, and emissions outcomes must be verified against the latest site-specific disclosures; this brief does not infer an active partnership or available supply.

  • Named facility and dated project status
  • Commissioning, operating, or delay evidence for the relevant period
  • Facility-specific input, output, and emissions boundaries

Evidence boundary

The sources reviewed describe company-level production routes and circularity measures. They do not identify a specific procurement program, selected site, customer partnership, or externally available material stream. A site-level conclusion should be supported by evidence for that facility, process, and reporting period. EPA query limitations

Regulatory watchlist, certifications & innovation signals

ArcelorMittal’s dominant regulatory throughline is European: the EU Emissions Trading System and the incoming Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism, both far larger cost and investment drivers than U.S. environmental rules given the company’s production geography.

JurisdictionFrameworkTrigger / status
European UnionCarbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (CBAM)Carbon-cost-equivalent charges on imported steel; a major structural driver for ArcelorMittal’s European decarbonization investment
European UnionEU Emissions Trading System (ETS)Carbon-allowance cost applicable to ArcelorMittal’s European BF-BOF and DRI-EAF plants
United States (federal)Clean Air Act: Integrated Iron and Steel NESHAPAir-emissions control requirements for integrated steelmaking facilities, applicable to matched U.S. sites
United States (federal)TRI (Toxics Release Inventory)Facility-level listed-chemical release and management reporting for matched U.S. sites

Regulatory applicability has not been adjudicated per site here. This is a watchlist, not a legal conclusion.

Certification & reporting families in play

Certificate scope and current status are not verified here. Certification-family relevance does not prove an active, in-scope certificate at any named plant.

Innovation & capacity signals

XCarb brand Company-marketed lower-carbon and recycled-content steel product family

DRI-EAF investment Disclosed conversion investment at select European plants, moving away from BF-BOF toward direct-reduced-iron plus electric-arc-furnace production

Calvert ownership update ArcelorMittal acquired Nippon Steel's interest in 2025 and renamed the facility ArcelorMittal Calvert; verify current site-specific regulatory applicability separately

Global scale 63.43 million tonnes of 2025 crude steel production, the world’s second-largest steelmaker by volume

Material Transition editorial interpretation

This brief separates the disclosed record from the evidence still needed. Bring the relevant specification, facility or product-family evidence into the review.

Sources

  1. [1]
    SEC XBRL company facts (opens in a new tab)

    data.sec.gov

    Reported cost proxy ($56,976,000,000), period ended December 31, 2025, and CIK 0001243429. A clean current revenue figure is stale/unavailable in the underlying dataset and is not used as a current figure in this brief.

  2. [2]
    U.S. EPA TRI Basic Data Files (opens in a new tab)

    epa.gov

    EPA's TRI Basic Data Files provide facility- and chemical-level reporting data. They do not themselves reproduce the missing historical six-facility candidate list used in the prior page aggregate.

  3. [3]
    World Steel Association (opens in a new tab)

    worldsteel.org

    2025 crude steel production (63.43 Mt) and global sector-context statistics on production routes.

  4. [4]
    ArcelorMittal investor relations (opens in a new tab)

    corporate.arcelormittal.com

    Company description of production routes (BF-BOF, EAF, DRI/HBI), XCarb product family, and decarbonization investment program.

  5. [5]
    EU CBAM & ETS (opens in a new tab)

    taxation-customs.ec.europa.eu

    Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism and Emissions Trading System frameworks applicable to ArcelorMittal’s European production base, for regulatory verification.

  6. [6]
    ArcelorMittal completes acquisition of Nippon Steel's interest in Calvert (opens in a new tab)

    corporate.arcelormittal.com

    ArcelorMittal reported completing Nippon Steel's stake acquisition on June 18, 2025 and renaming the facility ArcelorMittal Calvert. This is the current ownership evidence; the EPA parent field is separate.

  7. [7]
    Current source · 2025 Sustainability Report (opens in a new tab)

    corporate.arcelormittal.com

    ArcelorMittal, official report. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.

  8. [8]
    Current source · 2025 Sustainability Report PDF (opens in a new tab)

    cdn.arcelormittal.com

    ArcelorMittal, official report PDF. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.

  9. [9]
    Current source · Environmental management (opens in a new tab)

    corporate.arcelormittal.com

    ArcelorMittal, official circularity disclosure. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.

  10. [10]
    Current source · XCarb recycled and renewably produced steel (opens in a new tab)

    corporate.arcelormittal.com

    ArcelorMittal, official product disclosure. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.

  11. [11]
    EPA TRI 2024 current API candidate-set reconciliation (opens in a new tab)

    data.epa.gov

    Current API diagnostic over the explicit parent-name candidate facility IDs plus the route's named AM/NS Calvert ID. It is not a reconstruction of the former six-facility population, an ownership/operating-control census, total steelmaking residual mass, or recovered-product availability.

  12. [12]
    ArcelorMittal Sustainability Report 2025 (opens in a new tab)

    cdn.arcelormittal.com

    Company-reported group totals for 2025; no site allocation, third-party availability, or uncommitted material stream is established.