Key facts
- Company
- DuPont de Nemours Inc
- Industry
- Chemicals & Advanced Materials
- Materials
- Cement, Minerals, PFAS, Plastics, Solvents, Water
- Processes
- Recycling, Wastewater treatment
- Regions
- North America
- Countries
- United States
- Evidence through
- Sources
- 10 public sources
Reported scale and scope
- FY2024 revenue
- ~$12.4B Reported · DuPont 10-K, verify exact figure
- Structural splits since 2015
- 5 Chemours, DowDuPont, 3-way split, IFF, Qnity
- TRI facility leads
- 28 2024 U.S. match, unresolved
- DMF reported (2024 TRI)
- 40.65M lb Aggregate across 28 facilities
- Latest spinoff
- Qnity Electronics Completed on or around Nov 2025
Company flow
Public evidence, arranged around DuPont’s physical production system rather than a stable org chart. DuPont’s defining structural fact sits upstream of any single product: the entity trading today as NYSE: DD is the product of a serial, repeated corporate fragmentation, not one continuous company. See the corporate-fragmentation section for the full sequence.
01 · MATERIALS IN
Solvents, monomers & specialty feedstocks
N,N-Dimethylformamide (DMF) as a membrane-casting and process solvent, aramid-fiber monomer chemistry for Kevlar, and specialty additives and formulation chemistries sourced for DuPont’s remaining product lines.
Public category signal, TRI-derived02 · MAKE
Specialty formulation & membrane manufacturing
Reverse-osmosis and nanofiltration membrane casting (FilmTec), aramid-fiber spinning (Kevlar, Nomex), and nonwoven flash-spun sheet production (Tyvek), alongside specialty chemical formulation, not one integrated production route.
Company reported03 · PRODUCTS OUT
Water, safety & industrial technologies
Water and wastewater treatment membranes, personal-protection and industrial-safety materials, and specialty industrial and formulation chemistries sold across DuPont’s remaining segments after four rounds of divestiture.
Company described04 · WASTE OUT
TRI-reported DMF & solvent management
40,651,480 lb of N,N-Dimethylformamide reported managed in 2024 across 28 matched U.S. facilities, led by the FilmTec membrane plant in Edina, MN.
Listed-chemical viewWhat is public now
Ticker / CIK NYSE: DD · SEC CIK 0001666700
FY2024 revenue Reported at roughly $12.4B in DuPont’s own SEC filings; a $1.693B figure elsewhere in this source set is very likely a segment or partial-period XBRL tag and is not used here as total revenue
Corporate structure The current legal entity dates only to 2019, and has itself shed a major business twice more since (Nutrition & Biosciences in 2021, Qnity Electronics in 2024 to 2025)
Public plant signal 28 U.S. facilities matched to a DuPont parent name in the 2024 TRI dataset; three (Edina, MN; Newark, DE; La Place, LA) carry enough public detail here to treat as candidate facility leads
Material question A named plant and product platform is the workable starting point, and must be checked against which post-split entity currently owns it before any pitch is built
What the public record tells us
Fragmentation signal: DuPont is not a single stable production system to profile the way an integrated chemicals producer is. It is a specialty-products residue left behind after a merger, a three-way breakup, one divestiture, and one electronics spinoff, each of which relocated named facilities and product lines to a different public company. Any material transition pitch has to first confirm which of five now-separate companies (DuPont, Dow, Corteva, IFF, Qnity Electronics) actually owns the plant in question.
Ownership caveat, stated once and applied throughout: a TRI facility-name match to “DuPont” is a candidate facility lead only. It is excluded from any owned/operated count until ownership and operating control are verified, a caution that matters more for DuPont than for almost any other company in this brief given how recently and how often its facility portfolio has changed hands.
Regulatory and certification signals
Regulatory watchlist TSCA chemical reporting, PFAS-specific rulemakings, REACH (EU), TRI and RCRA solvent-management requirements
Certification & reporting families Company sustainability reporting on emissions and water; site-level environmental management systems where in place
How to use this view Full detail sits in the Regulatory & innovation section, including DuPont’s own documented history with legacy PFAS liability allocation
Innovation and recovery signals
Material innovation Membrane chemistry (FilmTec), aramid-fiber engineering (Kevlar, Nomex), and flash-spun nonwoven materials (Tyvek) are DuPont’s clearest current specialty-materials platforms
Recovery pathways Solvent recovery and reuse at membrane-casting and specialty-chemical sites, a genuine but unverified-at-plant-level opportunity area
Scope of the material question Match plant, product platform, and current owning entity separately. There is no single stable DuPont footprint to standardize a pitch against
A company built from splits: DowDuPont’s serial fragmentation
This is the single most important thing to understand before proposing any material transition work with DuPont. The company was assembled, then repeatedly taken apart, in five distinct public transactions over roughly a decade. Every fact below is a matter of public record; where a named facility from this brief’s TRI data sits in that lineage is flagged explicitly.
Structural history, requires per-facility verificationThe sequence
2015
DuPont spins off The Chemours CompanyDuPont’s performance chemicals business, including titanium dioxide and fluoroproducts, was separated into Chemours as an independent public company. This split predates and is separate from the Dow merger below, and it is the transaction most closely tied to legacy PFOA/PFAS liability from historic DuPont manufacturing sites; see regulatory section for how that liability is currently allocated.
2015 to 2017
Dow Chemical and DuPont merge to form DowDuPont Inc.The two companies combined in an all-stock merger of equals, completed in 2017, creating a single holding company, DowDuPont, that briefly housed the combined materials science, agriculture, and specialty products businesses of both legacy companies.
2019
DowDuPont splits into three independent public companiesDowDuPont separated into Dow Inc. (materials science), Corteva, Inc. (agriculture), and the “new” DuPont de Nemours, Inc. (specialty products). This 2019 entity, not the pre-2015 or pre-2017 companies, is the DuPont that trades today as NYSE: DD and is the subject of this brief.
2021
Nutrition & Biosciences divested and merged into IFFDuPont divested its Nutrition & Biosciences business, which combined with International Flavors & Fragrances (IFF) in a Reverse Morris Trust transaction. Enzyme, probiotic, and food-ingredient product lines that had been part of DuPont moved to IFF at this point.
2024 to 2025
Electronics-materials business spun off as Qnity Electronics, Inc.DuPont announced a further separation of its electronics-materials business, semiconductor materials including chemical-mechanical planarization (CMP) products, into a new standalone public company publicly named Qnity Electronics, Inc. Public reporting places the completion of this spinoff around November 2025. The remaining DuPont is left focused on water, industrial technologies, safety and protective materials, and specialty products.
Where this brief’s named facilities sit in that lineage
FilmTec Corp, Edina, MN (13,811,025 lb DMF, 2024 TRI): FilmTec is DuPont’s reverse-osmosis and nanofiltration membrane business, part of DuPont Water Solutions. Water solutions was not part of the Nutrition & Biosciences divestiture, the Chemours spinoff, or the Qnity Electronics spinoff. On current public information, FilmTec stayed with DuPont through all five transactions above, so this facility lead is the strongest candidate in this brief for still sitting inside DuPont de Nemours, Inc. today, pending direct site-level ownership confirmation.
DuPont Electronic Materials CMP LLC B2 B3 B8, Newark, DE (6,715,828 lb DMF, 2024 TRI): this facility name places it in DuPont’s Electronics & Industrial segment, specifically the semiconductor CMP slurry business, exactly the kind of unit the 2024 to 2025 Qnity Electronics spinoff was built to carry. The 2024 TRI reporting year predates the spinoff’s public completion, so this record likely reflects DuPont’s ownership at the time of reporting. Current ownership of this specific facility requires direct verification against Qnity Electronics’ own site disclosures before this lead is treated as a DuPont-owned facility in any pitch or count.
DuPont Pontchartrain Works, La Place, LA (6,294,098 lb DMF, 2024 TRI): a long-standing DuPont manufacturing site with a multi-decade history under the DuPont name across several of its corporate eras. Its current product slate and which post-2019 entity holds title to it are not confirmed in this source set and should be checked directly before use.
Why this matters for a transition pitch
Do not open a DuPont conversation assuming one stable company with one stable plant list. The single highest-value move in this brief is naming, for any given facility, which of five now-separate public companies (DuPont, Dow, Corteva, IFF, Qnity Electronics) actually holds it today. A pitch aimed at a facility that moved to Qnity Electronics in the 2024 to 2025 spinoff is a pitch aimed at the wrong company.
Products leaving the remaining DuPont
Publicly described product families for DuPont de Nemours, Inc. as it stands after the 2021 Nutrition & Biosciences divestiture and the 2024 to 2025 Qnity Electronics spinoff. This is a narrower product set than “DuPont” covered a decade ago, and narrower still than the combined DowDuPont entity ever was.
Company describedWater & wastewater treatment
FilmTec reverse-osmosis and nanofiltration membranes for water purification and desalination, part of DuPont Water Solutions, DuPont’s most clearly retained specialty-materials platform.
Municipal water, industrial process water, desalination
Safety & protection
Kevlar aramid fiber (ballistic and cut-resistant materials), Nomex thermal-resistant fiber (firefighter and industrial protective apparel), and Tyvek flash-spun nonwoven sheet (protective apparel, medical packaging, building wrap).
Personal protective equipment, industrial safety, building materials
Industrial technologies
Specialty industrial materials and process solutions sold to manufacturing customers across multiple end markets. Exact current segment naming and product-line detail beyond the named brands above require verification against DuPont’s own current investor materials.
Industrial manufacturing, process equipment
Specialty formulation chemistries
Custom and performance formulation chemistries, including solvent-based casting and process chemistries such as DMF-based membrane manufacture. Some DuPont materials are marketed under names such as water-monitoring or surety-branded solution lines; exact current brand names and scope require verification against DuPont’s own product catalog before use in a customer-facing document.
Specialty chemical customers, water and industrial solutions
Electronics-materials note
Semiconductor materials, including chemical-mechanical planarization (CMP) slurries manufactured at sites such as Newark, DE, were part of DuPont’s Electronics & Industrial segment through the 2024 TRI reporting year but are the specific business line the 2024 to 2025 Qnity Electronics spinoff was designed to carry into a separate public company. Treat any current DuPont electronics-materials product claim as unverified until checked against which entity, DuPont or Qnity Electronics, currently markets it.
Product and application signal
Segment and product-family descriptions above are public. Plant-level output volume by product line and customer-specific specification are not publicly disclosed in this source set. Treat any specific volume figure as directional unless sourced to a named DuPont filing or technical data sheet.
Materials entering the system
DuPont’s materials-in picture is shaped by its specialty-manufacturing product lines: solvent-based membrane casting, aramid-fiber monomer chemistry, and formulation-grade specialty additives, rather than a single dominant feedstock.
Public category signal, TRI-derived| Material family | Public signal | Transition lens |
|---|---|---|
| N,N-Dimethylformamide (DMF), membrane-casting solvent | 2024 TRI aggregate, 40,651,480 lb across 28 facilities | The single largest tracked chemical signal in this brief; solvent recovery, reuse, and lower-toxicity alternative casting chemistry are the practical levers |
| Aramid-fiber monomer chemistry (Kevlar inputs) | Company reported, product-line signal | Aromatic diamine and diacid chloride chemistry used to produce poly-paraphenylene terephthalamide fiber; a genuine specialty-input area for lower-footprint monomer sourcing |
| Membrane-casting specialty chemistries (FilmTec inputs) | Public category signal | Polymer, solvent, and additive inputs to thin-film composite membrane manufacture at the Edina, MN facility lead |
| Specialty additives & formulation chemistries | Public category signal | Customer- and product-specific; not itemized at plant level in this source set |
| Semiconductor CMP slurry inputs (Newark, DE) | 2024 TRI facility signal, ownership requires verification | Abrasive and chemical inputs to chemical-mechanical planarization slurry, a business line that may now sit inside Qnity Electronics rather than DuPont |
Financial scale context
DuPont’s own SEC filings report FY2024 total revenue at roughly $12.4B, which provides scale context for total raw-material purchasing. A $1,693,000,000 XBRL-tagged figure elsewhere in this source set, flagged as period December 31, 2025 “Current,” is implausibly small for the whole company and is very likely a segment or partial-period tag; it is not used anywhere in this brief as total revenue. A cost-of-revenue figure in the same source set is flagged missing or stale and is likewise not used.
Material transition focus
The practical entry points are solvent management at DMF-using sites (recovery, reuse, or lower-toxicity alternative casting chemistry), lower-footprint aramid-monomer sourcing for Kevlar, and confirming which post-spinoff entity currently owns each candidate facility before any pitch is built around it.
Reported residual, water & climate signals
2024 TRI data gives a facility-level, U.S.-only view of N,N-Dimethylformamide (DMF) reporting across DuPont-matched facilities. Climate and water figures come from company sustainability disclosure, not a government registry.
Parent-name TRI match plus company-reported contextU.S. TRI facility leads (parent-name match, unresolved)
| Facility | Reported chemical | 2024 total quantity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| FilmTec Corp, Edina, MN | N,N-Dimethylformamide | 13,811,025 lb | Candidate lead, strongest current-DuPont signal |
| DuPont Electronic Materials CMP LLC B2 B3 B8, Newark, DE | N,N-Dimethylformamide | 6,715,828 lb | Candidate lead, current ownership may sit with Qnity Electronics |
| DuPont Pontchartrain Works, La Place, LA | N,N-Dimethylformamide | 6,294,098 lb | Candidate lead, unresolved |
All three are candidate facility leads from parent-name matching against 2024 U.S. TRI records, excluded from any owned/operated plant count until ownership and operating control are verified, the same caution applied to every company brief. See fragmentation section for why this caveat carries extra weight at the Newark, DE site specifically.
National TRI footprint (2024, aggregate across 28 matched facilities)
Facilities matched to DuPont parent name 28
Total N,N-Dimethylformamide reported (aggregate) 40,651,480 lb
Reported category figures (as recorded, six lines) 6,249,577 / 20,920,738 / 10,449,255 / 1,488,591 / 14,354,757 / 0 lb
Category labels require verification against the EPA’s own TRI schema before this breakdown is used in a compliance or procurement context. Unlike a simple rounding difference, the six reported category figures above sum to well above the published 40,651,480 lb total, which signals that these lines likely represent overlapping or differently scoped TRI categories (for example, on-site and off-site quantities counted alongside a separate total-releases-and-transfers line) rather than six additive components of one total. Do not treat these six figures as mutually exclusive shares of the aggregate until the EPA field mapping is confirmed.
Structural signal: a narrower company, a narrower footprint
DuPont’s 2024 TRI-matched footprint reflects a company that has already shed its agriculture business (Corteva, 2019), its materials-science business (Dow, 2019), its nutrition and enzymes business (IFF, 2021), and is in the process of shedding its electronics-materials business (Qnity Electronics, 2024 to 2025). Any TRI trend comparison against a pre-2019 or pre-2021 “DuPont” figure is comparing a fundamentally different company and should not be used without adjusting for scope.
Water stewardship
Company sustainability reporting typically covers water use and discharge at specialty-manufacturing sites, which use water for process and cooling purposes, including membrane-casting operations. Specific current-year DuPont withdrawal figures and site-level water-risk assessments are not publicly disclosed in this source set and should be confirmed in DuPont’s own current sustainability report before being cited.
Scope limitation
TRI parent-name matching only reaches U.S. facilities filed under a DuPont corporate name in the 2024 reporting year and only covers the specific listed chemical (here, DMF) tracked in this source set. It is not a complete emissions or waste inventory for DuPont’s full footprint, it says nothing about operations outside the United States, and given the 2024 to 2025 Qnity Electronics spinoff, some matched facilities may no longer be DuPont-owned as of this brief’s date.
Regulatory watchlist, certifications & innovation signals
DuPont’s dominant U.S. regulatory throughline is TSCA chemical reporting and PFAS-specific rulemaking, layered on a well-documented, genuinely public history of PFAS litigation exposure tied to its legacy predecessor entities.
| Jurisdiction | Framework | Trigger / status |
|---|---|---|
| United States (federal) | TSCA (Toxic Substances Control Act) | Chemical substance reporting and review requirements applicable to DuPont’s specialty chemical manufacturing |
| United States (federal) | PFAS-specific rulemakings (EPA) | Reporting, drinking-water, and cleanup rules targeting per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances, a category with well-documented historical ties to DuPont’s legacy manufacturing |
| United States (federal) | TRI (Toxics Release Inventory) & RCRA | Facility-level DMF and other listed-chemical release and management reporting for matched U.S. sites, alongside hazardous-waste management requirements |
| European Union | REACH | Chemical registration, evaluation, authorization, and restriction requirements applicable to DuPont’s EU-marketed specialty chemistries |
Regulatory applicability has not been adjudicated per site here. This is a watchlist, not a legal conclusion.
Legacy PFAS liability: a genuine public fact, stated carefully
DuPont has a well-documented, publicly reported history with PFAS (per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances) litigation exposure, tied primarily to legacy manufacturing by DuPont’s predecessor entities, including the historic Washington Works site and related PFOA (C8) contamination matters. Much of that direct legacy liability moved to The Chemours Company at the 2015 spinoff. In 2021, DuPont, Chemours, and Corteva publicly entered into a cost-sharing arrangement covering certain legacy PFAS-related liabilities across the three companies. This is reported, public information (SEC filings and public litigation disclosure), not a hypothesis. It should not be read as meaning the current, post-2019 DuPont de Nemours, Inc. carries the same direct PFAS liability profile as Chemours; the two companies’ exposure differs, and any specific dollar allocation should be verified against DuPont’s own current SEC disclosures before being cited in a client-facing document.
Certification & reporting families in play
Certificate scope and current status are not verified here. Certification-family relevance does not prove an active, in-scope certificate at any named facility.
Innovation & capacity signals
Membrane technology FilmTec reverse-osmosis and nanofiltration membrane development, DuPont’s clearest retained materials-science platform
Aramid-fiber engineering Continued Kevlar and Nomex product development for safety and protection end markets
Solvent management DMF recovery and reuse at membrane-casting and specialty-chemical sites is an industry-standard practice; DuPont-specific recovery volumes are not in this source set
Highest-leverage public opportunities
Each hypothesis connects a public TRI, product-line, or fragmentation signal to a specific transition pathway, ranked by fit. Every one requires naming a specific plant and current owning entity before it is qualified, a caveat that matters more here than in most other briefs given DuPont’s recent spinoff history.
DMF recovery & closed-loop solvent management at FilmTec, Edina, MN
Screening candidateThe single largest named DMF source in this brief (13.8M lb, 2024 TRI) sits at a facility with the clearest current-DuPont ownership signal. Solvent recovery, reuse, or lower-toxicity alternative membrane-casting chemistry is a concrete, verifiable starting point.
- Confirmed current ownership (strong signal already, direct confirmation still needed)
- Named process line and DMF volume at the site
- Recovery or substitute-chemistry economics vs. current solvent use
Pontchartrain Works solvent-use reduction, La Place, LA
Screening candidateA long-standing DuPont site with a substantial DMF signal (6.3M lb, 2024 TRI). Current product slate and owning entity require confirmation, but the volume alone makes this worth a named-plant qualification pass.
- Confirmed current product slate at the site
- Confirmed current owning entity post-2019
- Named DMF-use process and reduction or substitution economics
CMP slurry chemistry improvement, Newark, DE
Qualification openA real, substantial DMF signal (6.7M lb, 2024 TRI) at a semiconductor CMP slurry facility, but this is exactly the kind of unit the 2024 to 2025 Qnity Electronics spinoff was built to carry. Fit is capped until current ownership is confirmed; a DuPont-branded pitch here may need to be redirected to Qnity Electronics entirely.
- Direct confirmation of current owning entity (DuPont vs. Qnity Electronics)
- Named process line and slurry chemistry
Lower-footprint aramid-fiber monomer sourcing (Kevlar inputs)
Qualification openAromatic diamine and diacid chloride chemistry underlies Kevlar production. Lower-footprint monomer sourcing or process-chemistry improvement is a genuine but currently unverified-at-plant-level opportunity area.
- Named production site and current monomer supply chain
- Process-chemistry documentation
- Supplier qualification pathway
Priority opportunity
Start by confirming which company owns the plant, then start with FilmTec, Edina, MN. DuPont’s fragmentation history means the single highest-risk mistake in this brief is pitching a facility that has already moved to Dow, Corteva, IFF, or Qnity Electronics. Once ownership is confirmed, the Edina, MN site carries the strongest combination of volume, retained-ownership signal, and concrete solvent-management opportunity. Recommendation: verify ownership, then pilot. Name one plant, one current owning entity, and one material stream before proceeding.
Material Transition editorial interpretation
This brief separates the disclosed record from the evidence still needed. Bring the relevant specification, facility or product-family evidence into the review.
Sources
- [1] SEC EDGAR company facts (opens in a new tab)
sec.gov
CIK 0001666700, legal name DuPont de Nemours, Inc. FY2024 total revenue is reported at roughly $12.4B in DuPont’s own 10-K; a $1,693,000,000 XBRL-tagged figure elsewhere in the underlying dataset (period December 31, 2025, flagged “Current”) is judged implausible as total revenue and is not used in this brief. A cost-of-revenue figure in the same dataset is flagged missing or stale and is likewise not used.
- [2] U.S. EPA TRI (opens in a new tab)
epa.gov
2024 U.S. TRI Basic Data Files. Facility, parent, chemical, and management quantities for N,N-Dimethylformamide across 28 matched facilities, including the three named facility leads.
- [3] DuPont de Nemours, Inc. investor relations (opens in a new tab)
investors.dupont.com
Company description of business segments, product platforms (FilmTec, Kevlar, Nomex, Tyvek), and the 2021 Nutrition & Biosciences divestiture.
- [5] Qnity Electronics spinoff disclosure (opens in a new tab)
dupont.com
Public company and news disclosure describing the 2024 to 2025 separation of DuPont’s electronics-materials business into Qnity Electronics, Inc., for verification of current ownership at electronics-materials facilities such as Newark, DE.
- [6] Chemours / DuPont / Corteva legacy PFAS cost-sharing disclosure (opens in a new tab)
chemours.com
Public SEC and litigation disclosure describing the 2015 Chemours spinoff and the 2021 cost-sharing arrangement among DuPont, Chemours, and Corteva for certain legacy PFAS-related liabilities.
- [7] Current source · 2025 Sustainability Report (opens in a new tab)
dupont.com
DuPont, official corporate report. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
- [8] Current source · 2025 Performance Building Solutions and Corian Design report (opens in a new tab)
dupont.com
DuPont, official business report. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
- [9] Current source · Enabling the circular economy (opens in a new tab)
dupont.com
DuPont, official circularity program. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
- [10] Current source · Creating beautiful design from scrap (opens in a new tab)
dupont.com
DuPont, official product circularity disclosure. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above; it does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
- [11] DuPont Completes Divestiture of Aramids Business (opens in a new tab)
investors.dupont.com
Dated company announcement confirming the completed transfer of Aramids, including Kevlar and Nomex, to Arclin; does not establish Arclin's products, capacity, facilities or material availability.