Vehicles and battery manufacturing

General Motors Company

One working view of GM's owned assembly footprint, battery joint ventures, vehicle brand portfolio, material inputs, and reported residual streams, read against the fact that GM directly operates most of its own plants while battery-cell manufacturing runs through shared joint ventures.

Industry
Automotive & Mobility
Region
2 countries
Evidence through
Sources
5 public

Key facts

Company
General Motors Company
Industry
Automotive & Mobility
Materials
Aluminum, Batteries, Glass, PFAS, Plastics, Solvents, Steel
Processes
Recycling, Energy recovery
Regions
Asia, North America
Countries
China, United States
Evidence through

Reported scale and scope

FY2025 revenue
$167.97B December 31, 2025 · SEC
TRI facility leads
22 2024 U.S. match, unresolved
Managed listed chemicals
9.98M lb 2024 U.S. TRI, parent-matched
Core vehicle brands
4 + EV lines Chevrolet, GMC, Cadillac, Buick
Battery-cell JVs
2 named Ultium Cells LLC; GM, Samsung SDI

Company flow

Public evidence, arranged around the physical system rather than the corporate org chart. GM's defining structural fact is the opposite of a franchise model: the parent directly owns and operates most of its assembly, stamping, and powertrain plants, then layers joint-venture battery plants and a deep multi-tier supplier network on top.

01 · MATERIALS IN

Steel, aluminum, polymers, battery inputs, chips

Sheet steel, aluminum, plastics and polymers, rubber, glass, electronics/semiconductors, and battery-grade lithium, nickel, cobalt, manganese, and graphite enter through a multi-tier supplier network GM does not fully own.

Public category signal

02 · MAKE

Owned assembly plus JV battery cells

GM stamps, welds, paints, and assembles vehicles at wholly-owned plants organized by vehicle platform, while battery-cell manufacturing runs through joint ventures GM co-controls but does not wholly own.

Mixed ownership signal

03 · PRODUCTS OUT

Chevrolet, GMC, Cadillac, Buick, plus EVs and commercial

Gasoline, hybrid, and electric vehicles sold under four core brands, an EV lineup sold under those same brand names, and commercial EVs under BrightDrop.

Company described

04 · WASTE OUT

Listed-chemical streams and scrap

9.98M lb of production-related chemical waste matched across 22 candidate U.S. facilities in 2024 TRI records, plus a company-reported scrap-metal and landfill-diversion program that TRI does not capture.

Listed-chemical view, plant-level unresolved

What is public now

Reporting segments GM North America, GM International, Cruise (autonomous, wind-down announced), GM Financial

Business model Vertically integrated original equipment manufacturer: GM designs, engineers, stamps, and assembles most of its own vehicles, unlike a franchise or contract-manufacturing model

Public plant signal 22 U.S. TRI facility leads matched to General Motors LLC; ownership and operating control not yet individually verified for any one site

Scope note Plant- or platform-level evidence is needed to connect the parent-level record to a specific material flow

What the public record tells us

Procurement signal: GM's own manufacturing spans stamping, body, paint, and general assembly at plants it directly operates. The battery-cell layer sits one step removed, inside joint ventures GM co-owns and co-governs rather than fully controls, which changes who signs off on a material substitution there.

Material signal: Steel and aluminum body structure, plastics/polymer interior and exterior trim, and lithium-ion battery packs for EVs are the three largest public material categories. Exact tonnages and named suppliers are not publicly itemized at the parent level.

Waste signal: Matched 2024 TRI records show 9,980,871 lb of listed chemicals managed across candidate GM facilities, led by Xylene (mixed isomers), a paint-shop solvent signature consistent with assembly-plant paint operations rather than chemical manufacturing.

Regulatory and certification signals

Regulatory watchlist CAFE fuel-economy standards, EPA GHG vehicle standards, California ACC II / state ZEV mandates, EU CO2 fleet regulation, China NEV dual-credit policy, TRI/RCRA/TSCA-PFAS

Certification families IATF 16949 automotive quality, ISO 14001, and customer/regulator restricted-substance declarations (IMDS) where applicable to a given part or plant

How to use this view Connect each requirement to the plant, platform, material, jurisdiction, and effective date before treating it as applicable

Innovation and recovery signals

Material innovation Ultium battery platform, publicly stated move toward lithium manganese-rich (LMR) cathodes to reduce cobalt and nickel content, direct chip-supply agreements announced with several semiconductor makers

Recovery pathways Company-reported landfill-free manufacturing program, publicly announced battery-recycling relationships

Evidence boundary Assembly plants and battery-cell joint ventures have different ownership structures. The public sources reviewed do not establish one procurement process covering both

Plants, platforms & battery JVs

A facility lead is not a production-plant count until ownership and operating control are verified, and a joint venture is not the same relationship as a wholly-owned plant. GM's physical footprint splits into three distinct control types: wholly-owned assembly/stamping/powertrain plants organized by vehicle platform, battery-cell joint ventures where GM shares operating control, and an arm's-length multi-tier supplier network GM does not own at all.

Relationship types kept separate

Control hierarchy

Parent

General Motors Company (NYSE: GM) Designs, engineers, and finances vehicle programs; owns brands, platforms, and most assembly capacity directly

Public parent Owned & operated

Assembly, stamping & powertrain plants Wholly-owned U.S. and international plants building vehicles on shared platforms (e.g. the T1 full-size truck/SUV platform, the Ultium/BEV3 electric-vehicle platform); exact current global plant count not itemized in this source set

Owned and operated Joint venture, battery cells

Ultium Cells LLC (GM + LG Energy Solution) Battery-cell manufacturing joint venture with plants reported in Warren/Lordstown, Ohio; Spring Hill, Tennessee; and Lansing (Delta Township), Michigan

JV, operating control shared Joint venture, battery cells

GM & Samsung SDI joint venture Second battery-cell joint venture, with a plant publicly announced for New Carlisle, Indiana; verify current construction and start-of-production status before citing a date

JV, operating control shared Strategic supplier, no equity (typical)

Steel, aluminum, plastics, semiconductor, and raw-battery-material suppliers Multi-tier network supplying sheet steel, aluminum, resins, chips, and lithium/nickel/cobalt/graphite inputs; GM has disclosed selected offtake and investment agreements (e.g. Lithium Americas, POSCO Future M) but does not publicly itemize its full supplier base

Strategic supplier / offtake

Why the JV distinction matters here

A JV is not a subsidiary. Ultium Cells LLC and the GM, Samsung SDI venture are separately governed entities with a named co-owner, not GM plants with a supplier badge on the door. A material or process change inside either JV requires sign-off from the partner, not just GM. Treat a battery-chemistry pitch to "GM's battery plant" as a pitch to two decision-makers, not one, until confirmed otherwise.

U.S. TRI facility leads (parent-name match, unresolved)

Facility TRI ID 2024 managed weight Top chemical
GM Truck Group Fort Wayne Assembly, Roanoke, IN 46783GMCTR12200 1,709,997 lb Xylene (mixed isomers)
GMC Truck Group Arlington Assembly Plant, Arlington, TX 76010GNRLM2525E 1,458,950 lb Xylene (mixed isomers)
GM Truck Group Flint Assembly Plant, Flint, MI 48551GMCTRG3100 1,338,673 lb Xylene (mixed isomers)

These are the three highest-volume candidate leads out of 22 matched to General Motors LLC in 2024 U.S. TRI records. All three build full-size trucks/SUVs, which is consistent with paint-shop solvent use at high-volume assembly plants. None is confirmed as currently owned-and-operated without further validation, and none of GM's battery JV sites appear in this TRI match set. Excluded from any owned/operated plant count until ownership and operating control are individually verified.

Products leaving the system

Publicly described brand families, grouped by segment. Ownership status is uniform here (GM owns all four core brands outright), but the underlying platform and powertrain differ sharply between them.

Company described

Chevrolet

GM's highest-volume mass-market brand: passenger cars, crossovers, full-size trucks and SUVs (Silverado, Tahoe, Suburban), and EVs (Equinox EV, Blazer EV, Silverado EV).

Wholly owned · volume brand

GMC

Premium truck and SUV brand sharing platforms with Chevrolet (Sierra, Yukon, Acadia), plus the Hummer EV sub-line (pickup and SUV).

Wholly owned · premium truck/SUV brand

Cadillac

GM's luxury brand, increasingly positioned as GM's lead EV brand with the Lyriq, Optiq, Vistiq, and Escalade IQ built on the Ultium platform.

Wholly owned · luxury brand, EV-forward positioning

Buick

Crossover-focused brand in the U.S., with a separately managed and much larger product lineup in China through GM's joint ventures there.

Wholly owned brand · China lineup runs through separate JVs (SAIC-GM), not the U.S. product line

BrightDrop

GM's commercial electric light-duty delivery vehicle and software business, sold to fleet operators rather than retail buyers.

Wholly owned subsidiary · commercial EV, separate go-to-market

GM Energy

Home and commercial energy products (bidirectional charging, home battery storage, and vehicle-to-home/grid hardware) built around the same Ultium battery technology as the vehicle lineup.

Wholly owned business unit · stationary storage, not a vehicle

Product and platform signal

Public brand and platform pages identify vehicle families and their underlying architecture. A named vehicle program (not the brand) is the workable unit for a material-substitution or supplier conversation, since a single brand like Chevrolet spans both a body-on-frame full-size truck platform and an EV skateboard platform with very different material bills.

Materials entering GM's system

Material families connect GM's public vehicle lineup to its manufacturing and battery-JV footprint. Battery raw materials are the one category with named, dated public deals; the rest are directional category signals only.

Public category signals
Material family Public signal Transition lens
Steel (sheet, high-strength, stamped structure) Public category signal Lower-carbon steel grades, scrap content, and named-mill sourcing are not publicly itemized
Aluminum (body panels, castings, EV structure) Public category signal Recycled-content aluminum and closed-loop scrap return programs are an industry-standard lever; GM-specific volumes not disclosed
Plastics & polymers (interior, exterior trim, fluid systems) Public category signal Recycled-resin and bio-based content, PFAS-free formulations, and grade substitution
Battery-grade lithium, nickel, cobalt, manganese, graphite Named public deals GM has publicly announced a lithium investment/offtake with Lithium Americas (Thacker Pass, Nevada) and a cathode active material joint venture with POSCO Future M in Québec; GM has also stated a move toward lower-cobalt/nickel LMR cathode chemistry. Verify current deal status and volumes before use, since these change.
Semiconductors & electronics Named public deals Following the 2021, 2023 chip shortage, GM publicly announced direct chip-supply agreements with several semiconductor makers rather than sourcing chips only through Tier 1s. Exact current partner list and scope should be verified against GM's latest statements.

Financial scale context

$167.97B FY2025 revenue provides scale context for sourcing and waste opportunities. It is not a materials-spend measure. GM's reported cost-of-revenue proxy in this source set is dated to 2013 and is stale. Treat it as unavailable, not as current COGS.

Material transition focus

Two material stories run in parallel at GM: steel/aluminum/polymer substitution across the existing internal-combustion and body-on-frame lineup, and a distinct, faster-moving battery-material story (lithium, nickel, cobalt, graphite, cathode chemistry) tied to the EV ramp and its JV structure.

Waste, water & climate

2024 TRI management categories for matched U.S. parent records provide a consistent listed-chemical management view. GM's own public sustainability commitments (landfill-free manufacturing, carbon neutrality) sit alongside this data but are reported on a different basis and cadence. Treat them separately.

2024 U.S. listed-chemical data

9.98M lb managed in 2024

Recycling 2.83M lb Treatment 3.95M lb Energy recovery 59.2K lb On-site release 2.89M lb Off-site transfer 0.79M lb

Highest-volume public lead

Fort Wayne Assembly, Roanoke, Indiana
GM Truck Group · 1.71M lb managed · xylene (mixed isomers) listed as largest chemical by managed weight, consistent with paint-shop solvent use.

What determines a viable recovery route: validate legal owner, operator, paint-shop process, solvent-recovery system already in place, current disposition, permit fit, and delivered economics before proposing a new one.

Company-reported programs (separate from TRI)

Climate target GM has publicly stated a goal of carbon neutrality in its global products and operations by 2040 (announced 2021); verify current interim milestones and scope in the latest sustainability report

Landfill diversion GM has for several years reported a large share of its manufacturing facilities certified landfill-free / zero-waste-to-landfill; treat the exact current site count as unverified until checked against the latest disclosure

Scrap recovery Company-reported metal-scrap recovery is standard practice at stamping and body-shop operations; GM does not publicly itemize tonnage or buyer by plant

Water Not publicly disclosed at the facility level in this source set

Regulatory & innovation

GM sits at the intersection of fuel-economy/emissions regulation for its combustion fleet and a separate, newer set of EV and battery-material rules. Treat each as its own compliance track with its own timeline.

Fleet emissions & ZEV regulation

CAFE standards Federal Corporate Average Fuel Economy requirements set the baseline fuel-economy target GM's combustion and hybrid fleet must meet on average

EPA GHG vehicle standards Parallel federal tailpipe CO2 standards; current stringency and timeline are subject to periodic rulemaking. Verify the version in force

State ZEV mandates California's Advanced Clean Cars II rule and the states that have adopted it set rising zero-emission-vehicle sales percentages; adoption and enforcement status vary by state and are actively litigated/revised

International EU CO2 fleet-average regulation and China's New Energy Vehicle (NEV) dual-credit policy apply to GM's vehicles sold in those markets, including through its China joint ventures

Battery & materials regulation

U.S. IRA battery sourcing rules Federal EV tax-credit rules tie eligibility to battery-component and critical-mineral sourcing thresholds, which is part of the public rationale for GM's North American battery-JV and lithium-offtake deals

Battery recycling / EPR An emerging regulatory area in the U.S. and EU (EU Battery Regulation sets recycled-content and collection targets); GM's specific compliance posture is not itemized in this source set

TRI / RCRA / TSCA-PFAS Standard U.S. federal chemical-management and reporting regime applicable to assembly-plant paint shops and any PFAS-containing inputs

Innovation signals

Ultium platform GM's modular EV battery and drive-unit architecture underpinning most of its current EV lineup across Chevrolet, GMC, Cadillac, and BrightDrop

Lower-cobalt cathode chemistry GM has publicly stated a move toward lithium manganese-rich (LMR) cathode chemistry to reduce reliance on cobalt and nickel; verify current production timeline before citing a year

Battery recycling relationships GM has publicly disclosed battery-recycling and materials relationships (including with Li-Cycle and Redwood Materials in past announcements); recycling-sector partners have seen significant financial volatility industry-wide, so current operating status should be verified before relying on any one partner

Direct semiconductor agreements Publicly announced direct agreements with chipmakers following the 2021, 2023 shortage, intended to shorten and de-risk the chip supply chain for future vehicle programs

Highest-leverage public opportunities

These opportunity hypotheses connect GM's public plant, platform, and battery-JV signals to specific material-transition pathways. Each requires a named plant, platform, or JV counterpart before it becomes a qualified conversation.

Lower-carbon steel or aluminum

Screening candidate

Use one assembly-plant body program to compare current sheet steel or aluminum against a qualified lower-carbon or higher-recycled-content grade.

  • Grade and performance match (crash, formability)
  • Named mill or supplier and chain of custody
  • Delivered cost basis

Battery cathode material substitution

Screening candidate

Engage on the LMR cathode transition directly, but confirm whether the decision sits with GM or with the Ultium Cells / Samsung SDI JV governance before proposing terms.

  • JV vs. wholly-owned decision authority
  • Current chemistry roadmap and timeline
  • IRA critical-mineral sourcing fit

Paint-shop solvent recovery

Qualification open

Fort Wayne, Arlington, and Flint assembly all report xylene as the top managed chemical. Test whether a consistent solvent-recovery or substitution pathway is viable at one of the three.

  • Confirm current paint-shop process and existing recovery equipment
  • Stream identity and volume by plant
  • Permit fit and delivered economics

PFAS-free formulation review

Qualification open

2024 TRI records show 0 matched PFAS forms for GM's candidate facilities, but that reflects TRI's reporting scope, not proof of a PFAS-free supply chain. Use a named part or plant to test the real position.

  • Current SDS and TDS by part
  • Regulatory trigger (state PFAS laws)
  • Plant and product owner

Priority opportunity

Separate the two conversations. A wholly-owned assembly plant (steel, aluminum, polymers, paint-shop chemistry) is a single-counterpart GM decision. A battery-cell material or process change inside Ultium Cells LLC or the GM, Samsung SDI JV requires the partner's sign-off too. Lead with whichever one has a named plant, platform, or JV attached, not the corporate brand.

Material Transition editorial interpretation

This brief separates the disclosed record from the evidence still needed. Bring the relevant specification, facility or product-family evidence into the review.

Sources

  1. [1]
    U.S. EPA TRI (opens in a new tab)

    epa.gov

    2024 U.S. TRI Basic Data Files. Facility, parent, chemical, and management quantities matched to General Motors LLC.

  2. [2]
    U.S. SEC (opens in a new tab)

    data.sec.gov

    Company Facts for General Motors Company, CIK 0001467858. FY2025 revenue signal ($167.97B, period end December 31, 2025).

  3. [3]
    GM brands & products (opens in a new tab)

    gm.com

    Public brand pages for Chevrolet, GMC, Cadillac, Buick, BrightDrop, and GM Energy describing current vehicle and product lineups.

  4. [4]
    Ultium Cells LLC (opens in a new tab)

    ultiumcellsllc.com

    Public description of the GM, LG Energy Solution battery-cell joint venture and its announced Ohio, Tennessee, and Michigan plant locations.

  5. [5]
    GM sustainability disclosures (opens in a new tab)

    gm.com

    Company-reported carbon-neutrality target, landfill-free manufacturing program, and battery-material sourcing announcements; verify current figures against the latest published report.